Release - old YouTube Plugin - XBMC 13.0 Frodo/Gotham only

  Thread Rating:
  • 28 Vote(s) - 4.14 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
cage Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4696
So the solution is to move on now? Only showing the device support video now.
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-08 05:54 by cage.)
find quote
amitlu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4697
Thanks Dioxaz this worked for me to get YouTube back after this new api change.
find quote
arzaz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4698
(2015-05-06 16:01)Dioxaz Wrote:  The path for xbmc.python in Linux is /usr/share/kodi/addons/ (or /usr/share/xbmc/addons/ I presume, if still using Frodo or older)
You must be sudo first (if under Ubuntu) to be able to write in that directory.

Reminder for Windows users: xbmc.python is located at C:\Program Files\XBMC\addons

But if you're under Linux, I suggest updating to Kodi (Helix at least, using the ppa:team-xbmc/ppa PPA, see here for details) unless you really can't do otherwise.

I'm putting a link to an extracted xbmc.python folder from a Helix install here.

Update, 2015-05-08: As some of you may have noticed, applications using gdata calls only return the device support video by now. This means that both Youtube Channels and our Youtube 4.4.10 can now be considered as obsolete. In Youtube 4.4.10, only "My history" and "My favorites" still show the streams (because it's stored by the add-on I presume, not on the Youtube account). So, migration to bromix's Youtube is the only solution.

Original (outdated) paragraph:
Edit: I think I'm understanding why both Youtube 4.4.10 and Youtube Channels are still working. Both add-ons make their calls by using URLs such as this one: https://gdata.youtube.com/feeds/api/videos?q=[search_keyword]
And when calling them directly, using a browser, they still return a valid XML result page. It's only towards the end of May, according to this page, that these 2 add-ons will actually stop working definitely I guess, if I'm not mistaken.

Dear Dioxaz,

Could you please revert with another link to download xbmc.python.zip, because i have some difficulties to use the link http://dioxaz.free.fr/download/xbmc_kodi...ython.zip.

Thanks
find quote
arzaz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4699
Can someone revert with another link to download xbmc.python?

Your help is highly appreciated.
find quote
Dioxaz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #4700
Try this: http://www.4shared.com/zip/DrZbt9ubce/xbmcpython.html

I also updated my previous post.
find quote
arzaz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4701
(2015-05-12 19:06)Dioxaz Wrote:  Try this: http://www.4shared.com/zip/DrZbt9ubce/xbmcpython.html

I also updated my previous post.

Thanks a lot Dioxaz

Just a question, is it possible to download videos with this version?
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 12,191
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 220
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4702
Not with bromix's addon, if that's what you are asking.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
AndyJL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4703
Hi
Ive got Bromix version to work, all except the search function which gives a script error, I put the python folder in place before I added the add-on, can anyone else still search with Bromix or is it something "broken" with the new Youtube API permanently?

Thanks !
find quote
Dioxaz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #4704
It's not the search function itself but the embedded keyboard pop-up window that fails and triggers the error. bromix changed the keyboard input method since version 5.1.2 to a new XBMC Python API function (or something similar) that is unsupported by Frodo.

In order to make the search function work again, you have to:
  • go to the following path: ~/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/resources/lib/kodion/impl/xbmc/
    (or C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodi​on\impl\xbmc\ or C:\Documents and settings\xxx\Application Data\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodion\impl\xbmc\ depending on your OS)
  • replace the xbmc_context_ui.py file by one coming from an older version (5.1.1 for example)

To make things easier, I'm putting a modified version of Youtube 5.1.3 with the old keyboard input method:
http://dioxaz.free.fr/download/xbmc_kodi...-frodo.zip (alternate link)
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-21 09:30 by Dioxaz.)
find quote
bromix Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 805
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 47
Post: #4705
(2015-05-21 09:28)Dioxaz Wrote:  It's not the search function itself but the embedded keyboard pop-up window that fails and triggers the error. bromix changed the keyboard input method since version 5.1.2 to a new XBMC Python API function (or something similar) that is unsupported by Frodo.

In order to make the search function work again, you have to:
  • go to the following path: ~/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/resources/lib/kodion/impl/xbmc/
    (or C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodi​on\impl\xbmc\ or C:\Documents and settings\xxx\Application Data\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodion\impl\xbmc\ depending on your OS)
  • replace the xbmc_context_ui.py file by one coming from an older version (5.1.1 for example)

To make things easier, I'm putting a modified version of Youtube 5.1.3 with the old keyboard input method:
http://dioxaz.free.fr/download/xbmc_kodi...-frodo.zip (alternate link)

Alright alright Smile I try to support both versions in the next update...thought at some point some or most moved one to at least Gotham Frown
find quote
Post Reply