A Noob in Serious Need of Guidance
[LIVE] All Who Read This,

I am an XBMC Noob pure and simple, though I am not a newbie to Ubuntu. Here are some important facts up front:

- My box is running an Intel Core 2 2.2 GHz
- I have an ATI Radeon 3450 Video Card
- I have XBMC LIVE 9.11 installed -- NOT running from CD

THE PROBLEM:

XBMC works very well on this configuration, save one thing. All video, regardless of file format, is displayed in Black and White. Still photos, the Confluence skin I'm using, audio visualizations all display in vivid color. Video of any kind does not (avi mpeg vob you name it), and I desperately need help.

WHAT I DO NOT KNOW...

- what the underlying version of Ubuntu is that I have here.
- what version of ATI driver I have.

SO WHAT AM I ASKING FOR??

- I need to understand why only video is misbehaving in this configuration.
- I need to understand how to update the underlying Ubuntu OS with the latest necessary software.
- I need to understand how to update to the latest video card driver (ATI).

Any and all insight and information is appreciated. I'm sure there are many out there that have the experience. PLEASE HELP.

Many thanks,
infraction
you need to go to the xbmc start screen, go to the shutdown menu and select the X (should say 'exit xbmc').
this should bring up a login prompt, enter in the login details you either entered when installing or the default (which I think is user 'xbmc' and pass 'xbmc').
then type
uname -a
to get your linux version, then run
sudo apt-get update
you'll need to wait for it to finish, then
sudo apt-get upgrade
you may also need to run
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
if it says that there were some not upgraded, now depending on your linux version, you may just need to run
sudo apt-get install envyng envyng-core
then
sudo envyng -t
however envy doesn't work on the latest lucid release and I don't have an ati card so I don't know the procedure for that driver I'm afraid, but hopefully this should help you a bit.