Low-Power, Low-Size hardware
Hi All,

I'm new to XBMC but I've used it for quite a while in a Ubuntu installation to stream HD (720 or 1080p) movies from my file server as everything else seems to stutter.

I'll be moving to a new apartment soon and will now have a living room seperate from the bedroom and therefore will need a new way to stream music/video, etc.

We're both very interested in a low power box for environmental reasons, rather than electricity bill reasons.

I've been trying to locate an ideal hardware platform and found plenty of interesting things I'd never heard of (GuruPlug, Beagleboard, fit-PC) and am interesting in playing around with regardless if they fit into a current need.

I've already read that Beagleboard and Fit-PC won't fit the requirements for an HTPC (basically just a media streamer that can support a usb-tuner for live TV). Although they would be ideal...

Current forerunners in my search are the Revo 3610 and the Zotac ZBOX HD-ID11...

Are there any even lower power-consuming options that can still support HD video? Size and noise are less of the issue for us. What are the opinions of the above? Are there better options=

I'm grateful for any suggestions, I believe I'm still somewhat of a niche market: the eco-nerd (I want big toys that don't gobble power... I'm currently also hunting around for bargains on the new low-power Opteron processors/motherboards).

Thanks,
Andrew
IF you want to run XBMC, the ions you listed are probably the lowest you are going to find, power wise.

If you want to just stream 1080p video, Any of the cheapo dedicated sigma based boxes like the wdtv, etc will do it fine and suck very little power, but you won't have the fancy xbmc interface.
Hi Misterpink,

From what I understand the WDTV was basically just a harddrive with media output, and didn't have any option to display live TV (TV Tuner), or to stream video from a central server or to play music... Or am I wrong?

Cheers,
Andrew