When is an addon not an addon?
During a recent effort to document addon development for XBMC and coming at it from the point of view of a complete beginner to the subject, I struggled with what exactly constitutes an addon, a plugin, a script etc. Granted, this is in no small part due to reading some existing documentation aimed at pre Dharma XBMC. So I thought I'd post this and see what others think about the subject. I stress, this is my own point of view.

From my research, XBMC is now classing all userland supplied (and a lot of in-built functionality,) as an "addon" and have provided new functionality to manage installing, updating and managing addons from within XBMC itself, a great step forward that will simplify distribution and therefore give greater incentive to addon developers. But this leads to some problems;

Addons can be classified into 4 groups;
  • repository - adds alternative addon repositories to the addon manager
  • plugin - adds to the functionality of XBMC. Plugins appear under the relevant media section of the main home menu.
  • script - a runnable, standalone, program that will appear in the XBMC program section and can take over the console, e.g. Rss editor
  • skin - a skin definition and its supporting script files

The repository and skin addon types are fairly well self contained. It's in the plugin and script types that I believe some confusion exists. There are a couple of issues;

1. Symantics - There is an uncontrolled blurring of what a plugin type actually means
  2. Missing definition - an additional type is required

Symantics