TV Show posters problem

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 927
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #1
There are some serious issues with season thumbs and posters in dharma beta 2.


1. When I refresh a tv show, (and select no to refresh episodes) tvdb scraper is unable to retrieve any season thumbs although they appear on the tvdb site.

2. When no season thumb is found, it defaults to the wide icon/banner for the tv show rather than the tv shows main poster. And in certain views such as poster wrap or fanart(in transparency), the wide icon gets squished horizontally to fit into the poster frame and looks ridicilously ugly. Perhaps it should be changed to default to a poster/narrow-thumb

http://pastebin.com/LyGYSbmp
(This post was last modified: 2010-09-25 19:48 by aptalca.)
find quote
fillidill Offline
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I've noticed the problem with not getting the season thumbs too. :/
find quote
jonaz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I have the same problem aswell since i installed xbmc 10.0 beta 2 this morning.

if i refresh a series season it downloads a banner for each season instead of season posters.
(This post was last modified: 2010-09-25 21:28 by jonaz.)
find quote
moddster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Same problem here!
find quote
jhonny30 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #5
Thank god;-)
I posted a thread in the xbmc on atv forum but got no comment until now. So i thought i was alone having this problem.
Now i am relieved. I have exactly the same. For all my tvshows i had different season thumbs. For a reason i had to refresh one of these shows and all my season thumbs were gone. Instead xbmc used the wide banner. I cannot change the season thumb, because it seems that he can't find any.
So this seams to be a dharma beta2 problem rather than tvdb problem?!
Anybody find a solution?
find quote
Krazeh Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Having spent an hour or so trying to find the issue it appears to be either a recent change in the xml file sent back by tvdb or an error in the scraper. In simple terms it would seem that the scraper isn't identifying the parts of the xml file that contain details of the season thumbs and thus isn't writing any of those details into the library. It can be fixed but you have to delve around inside the actual tvdb.xml file that makes up the scraper.
find quote
galvanash Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Mostly my couch
Post: #7
Same here... Season thumbs are busted. Been happening since at least this morning. This is also happening on xbmc4xbox, so it is unlikely that this is an xbmc issue, it is an issue with thetvdb.com. Exactly what the problem is I don't know - I'm not familiar enough with that scraper to say.
find quote
Munkee915 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
im having this problem also but all my season thumbs are saved as tbn files in each show folder. when i browse in file mode each folder (season) shows the correct season thumb, but in library every season has the same thumb as the main thumb. Dont think its a tvdb scraper issue as i have all my season thumbs already saved on my server.
find quote
danz0l Offline
Fan
Posts: 645
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #9
Its the same on Beta 1. I think something must have changed on the TVDB site as this was working ok on beta 1 up until yesterday. Now all season thumbs are broken for new additions.

-= My Media Centre =-
ACER Revo R3610 | x2 1.5TB WD Caviar Green SATA Hard Drives (WD15EADS) | x2 2.0TB WD Caviar Green SATA Hard Drive ( WD15EARS ) | 3.5in Black eSATA USB Trayless SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure | Emprex 3009URF Wireless MCE Remote Control | XBMCLive Dharma Beta1
find quote
jhonny30 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #10
danz0l Wrote:. Now all season thumbs are broken for new additions.

And if you refresh a tvshow you already had on your library? Season thumbs still working? Because for me it didn't work after refreshing...
find quote
jhonny30 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #11
Krazeh Wrote:Having spent an hour or so trying to find the issue it appears to be either a recent change in the xml file sent back by tvdb or an error in the scraper. In simple terms it would seem that the scraper isn't identifying the parts of the xml file that contain details of the season thumbs and thus isn't writing any of those details into the library. It can be fixed but you have to delve around inside the actual tvdb.xml file that makes up the scraper.

How can i do that? Where is this xml located?
find quote
danz0l Offline
Fan
Posts: 645
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #12
I tried refreshing those that didn't have season thumbs (just had the wide banner), that i knew had them, and they are just not coming down.

-= My Media Centre =-
ACER Revo R3610 | x2 1.5TB WD Caviar Green SATA Hard Drives (WD15EADS) | x2 2.0TB WD Caviar Green SATA Hard Drive ( WD15EARS ) | 3.5in Black eSATA USB Trayless SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure | Emprex 3009URF Wireless MCE Remote Control | XBMCLive Dharma Beta1
find quote
jhonny30 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #13
What i meant was what happens when you refresh those that had season thumbs? Are they gone after refreshing?
find quote
danz0l Offline
Fan
Posts: 645
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #14
yes

-= My Media Centre =-
ACER Revo R3610 | x2 1.5TB WD Caviar Green SATA Hard Drives (WD15EADS) | x2 2.0TB WD Caviar Green SATA Hard Drive ( WD15EARS ) | 3.5in Black eSATA USB Trayless SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure | Emprex 3009URF Wireless MCE Remote Control | XBMCLive Dharma Beta1
find quote
jhonny30 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #15
Me too....
I read that by deleting tvdb.xml you can fix this problem. But i don't know where to find it? By ssh? But where?
find quote
Post Reply