New HTPC build
Hi,

Have been lurking in the forums for sometime researching the ideal htpc for my needs:

1) Need to be able to play 1080p content. Mostly will be dvd rips but would be nice to be able to stream from iplayer (not a deal breaker if it cant)
2) Would like it to be able to wake up two laptops and backup data
3) Would like to be able to browse the net
4) Would like it to be quiet, but does not need to be silent.

Hardware wise, i'd like to use a ssd hard disk (for boot) and a 1tb hard disk for data. As my data needs grow i'd like to build a NAS, but thats all for the future.
Not sure whether i'm better off going with a i3 cpu or the ion path?

Software wise. I've never used Linux before but am willing to try and learn. Would like to use Ubuntu and then install XBMC ontop it. I know it might be too much for a total newbie, but it does seem with a little bit of tinkeing i can get a linux setup where someone without any techy skills can use the HTPC.

Any comments are appreciated on the hardware side of things or even if the ubuntu path is the best way forward.

Thanks
whats your budget?

and going from experience....tiz better off building a server and buying set-top box to run as your xbmc front end (zotac, Acer revo,etc). I bought the zotac mobo, 4 gigs ram, big case, but found out 1TB hard drive is NOT that big at all and fills up fast. I am about to put my unRaid sever together tonight after UPS drops off my goodies.

basically I could have saved $150 on my build and used it towards the unRaid server or hard drives.

-=Jason=-
Budget is around £500-600 ($750- $900).

The only issue i have with going with a server and a front end, is that i'd like to take it step by step and not put too much on my plate straight away.