No DXVA option
I've been using MediaPortal for a few years now, but HD videos started stuttering, so I thought I'd give XBMC a try since I like the way it handles music.
I downloaded Darhma Beta 2 from the home page, but when I went into the Settings>Video>Playback, there's no option for DXVA. I tried Beta 1, but it's the same thing.
I'm beginning to think perhaps it's my video card, an Asus EN8600GT Silent, since videos that never stuttered before also stutter with MP, even though they play fine with Media Player Classic. So I tried the mobo's on-board video, but I get the Windows splash screen & then the screen goes black.
I don't know whether it's my system screwing up, or if I'm missing something.
My system specs are
Asus M3A78-CM mobo
AMD 9950 quad-core cpu
3gb RAM
Asus EN8600GT Silent VC
Windows XP Pro SP3

Thanks for any help.
Main branch of XBMC only supports DXVA2 (vista/win7). You will need to use the dsplayer branch for DXVA1 (XP).

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=70436
Thanks for that. I would never have realized.
I've been thinking of upgrading to Win7 anyways, so this gives me the push I needed.
Good plan. I can't comprehend why anyone would still use XP these days, especially on a rig like yours. XP won't properly utilize that quad core. I also can't comprehend using an 8600GT with a quad core, but that's the gamer in me crying Big Grin
Thanks for the answers, I was having same problem... So i'll upgrade to Win7
YodaEXE Wrote:Good plan. I can't comprehend why anyone would still use XP these days, especially on a rig like yours. XP won't properly utilize that quad core. I also can't comprehend using an 8600GT with a quad core, but that's the gamer in me crying Big Grin

The VC was from my previous HTPC. Would this mobo's on-board graphics be better? The manual says it's ATI RV610 based with up to 256mb of shared memory. It then says that to play back BluRay, the system config should be above the shared memory config.