XBMC official Git repository on GitHub (Team-XBMC's primary/head repo on github.com)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,248
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #16
Is this the correct way to do it? I use TortoiseGIT but it helpfully shows the command it's using:

1. git.exe clone --progress -v "https://jhsrennie@github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git" "D:\Dev\GIT\xbmc" to create a local copy of the repo. jhsrennie is my github username.

2. Make my changes

3. git commit to commit my changes to my local copy of the repo

4. git.exe push --progress "origin" master:master to push my changes up to the XBMC repository

Step 4 fails at the moment so am I doing this the correct way, and if so do I need to ask a member of the dev team to grant me push access?

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Git_Usage has blood curdling threats about "Never EVER force a push (non-fast-forward commit) to mainline". Can this be clarified for us git newbies? Is the problem overwriting code already pushed in by another dev? If so do you need to update your local archive then try again?

Finally the Git Usage article tells Linux/OSX users to update using git pull --rebase but doesn't mention Windows. Does this apply to Windows as well?

JR
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #17
1) you, as a dev, need to clone with git@github:xbmc/xbmc.git (ssh). this is required for push access. see github for how to upload your ssh key.

git pull --rebase (and anything else mentioned) applies to windows as well, it's just harder to explain in those gui's (i for one never tried tortoisegit) Smile

also see the int forums.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-07 11:56 by spiff.)
find quote
WiSo Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 2,745
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #18
I'll try to find some time to extend the wiki article for us windows users (split it like the FAQ). As I'm with git a noob too I can only cover the basics.
@jhsrennie: Make sure TheUni added your account on github (see the thread in our priv forum). The https url is fine for pushing too you just have to provide the password. The url spiff mentioned can be used if you work with ssh keys (which I have on my server but not for github atm).

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Montellese Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,846
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 36
Location: Switzerland
Post: #19
dushmaniac Wrote:you'll have to rename your previous fork first to anything other than "xbmc". then you'll have to create a new fork.

move or delete your earlier checked out sources and git clone your newly created fork.
if you had patches earlier, apply them again (hint: git format-patch & git am).

push it to your repo (origin/master) and your done.
Thanks for the rename hint. Why didn't I think off that? Working on getting all the right patches into my new fork now. Thanks again for the explanation.

FireMan Wrote:Unable to clone xbmc from github. This was after 1,2gb of download:

Why did you have to download 1.2 GB? I just forked and cloned and only had to download about 270 MB. Btw nice cleanup of the repository Big Grin

spiff Wrote:git pull --rebase (and anything else mentioned) applies to windows as well, it's just harder to explain in those gui's (i for one never tried tortoisegit) Smile

I tried TortoiseGit but I don't like it (compared to TortoiseSVN). I installed the "Git Bash" from msysgit and do everything from command line which is much better.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
FireMan Offline
Donor
Posts: 221
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #20
I don't get it... Tried 3 times, and aways download 1.1gb and return me a error:

Code:
xbmc@ASRock-QJM:~/git$ git clone -v https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git
Initialized empty Git repository in /home/xbmc/git/xbmc/.git/
got 97573d8c97b0effc446e4bee8a2cd107655f6c40
walk 97573d8c97b0effc446e4bee8a2cd107655f6c40
Getting alternates list for https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git
Also look at https://github.com/network/1217614.git/
Getting pack list for https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git
Getting index for pack f0508c611c450ecdd9d3e00626f7d4e51f891069
Getting pack list for https://github.com/network/1217614.git/
Getting index for pack 85f4211f33c1b3f9a92932789babf4e151f11c3d
Getting pack 85f4211f33c1b3f9a92932789babf4e151f11c3d
which contains 6681c4cdfcc30ab9eacf7a8517d753bcdddcb871
got 6c3df96c99f7bd9c182eb87fe1f5f46810c4737b
got f55f3478843f249e5132ccd823782fd910f2714d
error: Unable to get pack file https://github.com/network/1217614.git//objects/pack/pack-85f4211f33c1b3f9a92932789babf4e151f11c3d.pack
Peer closed the TLS connection
error: Unable to find 6681c4cdfcc30ab9eacf7a8517d753bcdddcb871 under https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git
Cannot obtain needed object 6681c4cdfcc30ab9eacf7a8517d753bcdddcb871
while processing commit 97573d8c97b0effc446e4bee8a2cd107655f6c40.
fatal: Fetch failed.

I also tried with '-o Dharma', and also downloaded 1.1gb and returned the same error.

Cheers.
find quote
Clumsy Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 641
Joined: Feb 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
@FireMan: tried not using the https repo and just follow the wiki ?
Shouldn't be 1,2GB, not sure what is going on.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Git_Usage

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #22
Please add this to wiki, to clear unversioned files:

git clean -xvf

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
ray1112 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #23
Can anybody give me the right commands for compiling night build (Alpha6)?

I use (I found this from this forum+wiki):

make distclean
git clean -xfd
git pull (I made "git config branch.master.rebase true" before)
./bootstrap
./configure
make -j4
make -C lib/addons/script.module.pil
sudo make install

But after "git pull" I always have:

Cannot pull with rebase: You have unstaged changes.
Please commit or stash them.

and I always need use "git checkout ." before repeat "git pull".
What's wrong?

P.S. git status:

# On branch master
# Changes not staged for commit:
# (use "git add/rm <file>..." to update what will be committed)
# (use "git checkout -- <file>..." to discard changes in working directory)
#
# deleted: lib/ffmpeg/version.h
#
no changes added to commit (use "git add" and/or "git commit -a")

Acer Aspire Revo R3700 Nettop, Intel Atom Dual Core D525B 1.8GHz, 2GB RAM, 500GB HDD, NOOPT, ION 2, HDMI, Linux
Ubuntu 12.04.4 LTS 3.2.0-67-generic #101-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jul 15 17:45:51 UTC 2014 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
XBMC Media Center 12.3 (compiled from GitHub)
XBMC Media Center 13.2-BETA2 (compiled from GitHub)
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,906
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 170
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #24
if you do "git clean" you will drop any changes you made and you can do "git pull" again

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
ray1112 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #25
(2012-09-13 20:17)Martijn Wrote:  if you do "git clean" you will drop any changes you made and you can do "git pull" again
I didn't make any changes.
I only run update & compile night build for testing:
-------------------
make distclean
git clean -xfd
git pull (I made "git config branch.master.rebase true" before)
./bootstrap
./configure
make -j4
make -C lib/addons/script.module.pil
sudo make install
--------------------
I think "make distclean" or "git clean -xfd" delete "lib/ffmpeg/version.h".

Edit: What commands do you use for making night build.

Acer Aspire Revo R3700 Nettop, Intel Atom Dual Core D525B 1.8GHz, 2GB RAM, 500GB HDD, NOOPT, ION 2, HDMI, Linux
Ubuntu 12.04.4 LTS 3.2.0-67-generic #101-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jul 15 17:45:51 UTC 2014 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
XBMC Media Center 12.3 (compiled from GitHub)
XBMC Media Center 13.2-BETA2 (compiled from GitHub)
(This post was last modified: 2012-09-13 20:30 by ray1112.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,612
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 116
Location: germany
Post: #26
docs/readme.yourplatform

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
ray1112 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #27
(2012-09-14 17:13)Memphiz Wrote:  docs/readme.yourplatform
README.ubuntu & README.linux say only about compile part (./bootstrap; ... ; sudo make install), nothing about how update source files.
Do I need "make distclean" and "git clean -xfd" before "git pull"?

Acer Aspire Revo R3700 Nettop, Intel Atom Dual Core D525B 1.8GHz, 2GB RAM, 500GB HDD, NOOPT, ION 2, HDMI, Linux
Ubuntu 12.04.4 LTS 3.2.0-67-generic #101-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jul 15 17:45:51 UTC 2014 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
XBMC Media Center 12.3 (compiled from GitHub)
XBMC Media Center 13.2-BETA2 (compiled from GitHub)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,612
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 116
Location: germany
Post: #28
try

git fetch origin

git reset --hard origin/master

normally a pull would be enough - no clue whats wrong on your rig.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
ray1112 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Russia
Post: #29
Thank you Memphiz.
May be I'm too complicated question.
I will use only "git pull".

Acer Aspire Revo R3700 Nettop, Intel Atom Dual Core D525B 1.8GHz, 2GB RAM, 500GB HDD, NOOPT, ION 2, HDMI, Linux
Ubuntu 12.04.4 LTS 3.2.0-67-generic #101-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jul 15 17:45:51 UTC 2014 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
XBMC Media Center 12.3 (compiled from GitHub)
XBMC Media Center 13.2-BETA2 (compiled from GitHub)
find quote
giftie Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 2,364
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Post: #30
You best try the following:

sudo git clean -xfd && git reset --hard

It has always worked for me...

[Image: e4f63e45ba34fe4695b3bb08eb2499d8e4ee484e...4c076g.jpg]
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first you can also use XBMC Log Uploader Script.
Cinema Experience
Cinema Experience Wiki
cdART Manager
fanart.tv


find quote