Running other stuff on different desktops
Hello,

I am running the Dharma4 beta live on a Foxconn nt330i nettop. So far it works great but I'm trying to make some (hopefully small) modifications to start another Xserver that I would access through my laptop. The idea is to run other software on it (I'm thinking Spotify but there are clearly other potential applications for this kind of setup). The problem I'm having is that I can't seem to get any sound out of it. I'm not an alsa expert but I was hoping it would be able to merge the sound coming from xbmc and whatever other programs are running but that doesn't seem to be the case. Even if I run with the same user on the same desktop I can't get any sound other than from xbmc. Is there a simple solution for this?

Thanks in advance
not an x expert so I am not sure if you connect to the existing xserver or start a new one. What you want is another session to run remotly while outputting sound on the htpc hardware?

Have you considered starting spotify with the launcher/executor the sameway as firefox can be started? Perhaps you want it remotly to control it from the laptop?

I dont know the "correct" way to do it with double xservers or what not, BUT if you install nxserver and connect WITHOUT enable sound support e.g. a webpage in the remote session will output sound on the local hw.
Hey, thanks for the response and for your tip on using Executor. I've been browsing the forum and found a thread on making Mozilla work under Executor (using flushbox as window manager). So you are right that I don't need to open additional X servers, I can open a Spotify window in Executor. That is good news.