Android keyboard for xbmc(Query/Suggestion)
I'd like to be able to use my android keyboard to type in xbmc. Currently I have to use the onscreen one with remote control UI, when I am using search functions. I'm a developer and I'd be up for doing some coding. I just thought I'd post and see if anyone else is working on it and if the event server is capable?

Anyone know?

XBMC WTF!
I am not sure but isn't the JSON-API replacing the eventserver?

All info. regarding this subject is summed up overhere.
Robotica Wrote:I am not sure but isn't the JSON-API replacing the eventserver?

All info. regarding this subject is summed up overhere.

Will the new API support the ability to type using an android phone ?

IMO, this would be the apps best feature, if it was possible.
If you're running Linux RemoteDroid might be a solution

Edit: Just noticed that it's also compatible with Windows Smile
skare Wrote:If you're running Linux RemoteDroid might be a solution

Edit: Just noticed that it's also compatible with Windows Smile

I have used remotedroid, but I couldnt get it too run as a service. Also you would have to switch between the xbmc app and the remote droid app, which is not great.
I currently use gmote for the keyboard and the XBMC remote app for the remote, it does involve switching but it's not that bad.

I love the way the boxee app automaticlly opens the keyboard when it's time to input text on the screen, if xbmc could also do this that would be a great plus.
marathont Wrote:I have used remotedroid, but I couldnt get it too run as a service. Also you would have to switch between the xbmc app and the remote droid app, which is not great.

I found a solution to start RemoteDroid and XBMC together. Works like a charm...

I'm going to write a xbmcremote extension in order to call the RemoteDroid client from xbmcremote directly.