[RELEASE] XBMC Flicks - Netflix Movies / TV Shows (Video) experimental Addon for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 15 Votes - 4.4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mwpeck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1216
Anyone able to browse by genre? It's the only thing that doesn't work here, I select a genre and it tries to load then shows up blank. If I have logging enabled it seems like the API is returning all the data, but at the end of a parse it says: "NOTICE: CRITICAL ERROR: Unable to parse ID of item. Stopping parse...".
find quote
patseguin Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,444
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 8
Post: #1217
Is there a working Netflix addon for Frodo?

Server: Synology Diskstation 1511+ with 8x 3TB drives and DSM 5.0
Main HTPC: Home built Intel core i3, 8GB RAM, Corsair 128GB SSD, nVidia 630GTX, Rii micro keyboard remote, Pioneer VSX-53, Panasonic VT30 65" 3D TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
Bedroom HTPC: Zotac-ID 41 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD, Rii micro keyboard remote, Samsung HW-E550, Sony Google TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
find quote
patseguin Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,444
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 8
Post: #1218
Is there currently a Frodo version of the Netflix addon?

Server: Synology Diskstation 1511+ with 8x 3TB drives and DSM 5.0
Main HTPC: Home built Intel core i3, 8GB RAM, Corsair 128GB SSD, nVidia 630GTX, Rii micro keyboard remote, Pioneer VSX-53, Panasonic VT30 65" 3D TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
Bedroom HTPC: Zotac-ID 41 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD, Rii micro keyboard remote, Samsung HW-E550, Sony Google TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-21 03:45 by patseguin.)
find quote
kebone Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1219
(2012-12-21 03:45)patseguin Wrote:  Is there currently a Frodo version of the Netflix addon?

negative
find quote
gdd2010 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1220
Well, this isn't exactly a permanent fix. But until there is an actual native plugin for NF in XBMC, I have found a workaround; though it requires a fairly robust machine.
I installed PlayOn Media server (great product for what it does) and it's free here --> http://www.playon.tv/
After you install, go into settings and goto the "Channels" tab. In there, put in your NetFlix account a PW and test (verify all is good).
Now in XBMC, add the UPNP Device \Your Computer Name\PlayOn to your list...
Create the shortcuts as you need and you can go right into browsing NF without the external browser. PlayOn handles the Trans coding for you.
Again, your machine running the server needs to be pretty good to avoid lag... Also, good Bandwidth doesn't hurt.

Hope it helps!
find quote
patseguin Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,444
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 8
Post: #1221
I went to that site and saw anything downlodable. Plus it said lite version doesnt support betflix

Server: Synology Diskstation 1511+ with 8x 3TB drives and DSM 5.0
Main HTPC: Home built Intel core i3, 8GB RAM, Corsair 128GB SSD, nVidia 630GTX, Rii micro keyboard remote, Pioneer VSX-53, Panasonic VT30 65" 3D TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
Bedroom HTPC: Zotac-ID 41 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD, Rii micro keyboard remote, Samsung HW-E550, Sony Google TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
find quote
patseguin Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,444
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 8
Post: #1222
I also don't see where to enter that upnp address. In xbmc all I see in homo are switches to enable it. I can find where to enter it.

Server: Synology Diskstation 1511+ with 8x 3TB drives and DSM 5.0
Main HTPC: Home built Intel core i3, 8GB RAM, Corsair 128GB SSD, nVidia 630GTX, Rii micro keyboard remote, Pioneer VSX-53, Panasonic VT30 65" 3D TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
Bedroom HTPC: Zotac-ID 41 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD, Rii micro keyboard remote, Samsung HW-E550, Sony Google TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-22 04:43 by patseguin.)
find quote
kebone Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1223
(2012-12-22 03:49)gdd2010 Wrote:  Well, this isn't exactly a permanent fix. But until there is an actual native plugin for NF in XBMC, I have found a workaround; though it requires a fairly robust machine.
I installed PlayOn Media server (great product for what it does) and it's free here --> http://www.playon.tv/
After you install, go into settings and goto the "Channels" tab. In there, put in your NetFlix account a PW and test (verify all is good).
Now in XBMC, add the UPNP Device \Your Computer Name\PlayOn to your list...
Create the shortcuts as you need and you can go right into browsing NF without the external browser. PlayOn handles the Trans coding for you.
Again, your machine running the server needs to be pretty good to avoid lag... Also, good Bandwidth doesn't hurt.

Hope it helps!

Tried it out and got it all setup (have to register on the site in order to download it). I ran into a fairly big problem though. No seeking. Can't rewind or fast forward at all. Searched high and low for a solution but what I ended up with was developer after developer saying it's just impossible. XBMC doesn't support HTTP seeking or something.

If someone does end up figuring it out I'd love to know the fix. It's perfect otherwise. Just know that I spent the better part of 4 hours attempting this.
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-23 05:29 by kebone.)
find quote
fmonaca Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1224
It is not an XBMC problem. As stated in the Playon forums, the video is re-created on the fly (transcoded), so there is no way to FF "ahead" of the file's end. Unless you have already seen it (i.e. left the pc going playing the video) and didn't restart the upnp client machine.
Unfortunately Playon always transcodes its contents (se the FAQ), so there is no way to directly access the stream.
For everything else it works great. Even on my ION it is performing good, although the video quality is not exceptional (even at max settings the trascoding degrades a little bit the original) and no HD available. Not a big deal since Silverlight didn't use the hardware acceleration of the ION anyway and I couldn't watch HD content without heavy stuttering.
They say that the HD is coming in some future release, but it will take a beefy machine to use it as the transcoding of HD content is really demanding.
find quote
ktjensen Offline
Fan
Posts: 338
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 7
Post: #1225
Is the plugin working well on a RASPBERRY PI Linux box yet?
find quote
yabsie Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Internet
Post: #1226
(2012-12-21 09:27)kebone Wrote:  
(2012-12-21 03:45)patseguin Wrote:  Is there currently a Frodo version of the Netflix addon?

negative

(2012-12-24 16:40)ktjensen Wrote:  Is the plugin working well on a RASPBERRY PI Linux box yet?

From what I understand, unless some one figures out how to get MS silverlight working on that version of linux there is no hope of getting netflix to every play on it.

So you will be list, search, add things to yoru queue etc, but not play any movies. Which is somewhat less fun. somone hinted at that there may be a way a page or two ago, but then they went silent.


(2012-12-21 03:45)patseguin Wrote:  Is there currently a Frodo version of the Netflix addon?

(2012-12-21 09:27)kebone Wrote:  
(2012-12-21 03:45)patseguin Wrote:  Is there currently a Frodo version of the Netflix addon?

negative

Well I think my hacked version works... Google Code appears down right now (wow eh?) giveing me a 502 so I cont find the link, scoll back a couple of pages and you should see it.

I have tried it on Frodo one time, and it seems to work as good as it did on eden, which is mediumly ok
(2012-12-20 00:49)mwpeck Wrote:  Anyone able to browse by genre? It's the only thing that doesn't work here, I select a genre and it tries to load then shows up blank. If I have logging enabled it seems like the API is returning all the data, but at the end of a parse it says: "NOTICE: CRITICAL ERROR: Unable to parse ID of item. Stopping parse...".

find my hacked version i posted on google code a while back it fixes that


Seems I cant get to google code from work, but I can from home so here is the link
Here is the forked version I am working on
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-24 17:29 by yabsie.)
find quote
patseguin Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,444
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 8
Post: #1227
Bummer, it would be a nice feature for xbmc. I can only guess they would have to license Silverlight which may make it cost prohibitive. I just hate having to exit xbmc to use Netflix

Server: Synology Diskstation 1511+ with 8x 3TB drives and DSM 5.0
Main HTPC: Home built Intel core i3, 8GB RAM, Corsair 128GB SSD, nVidia 630GTX, Rii micro keyboard remote, Pioneer VSX-53, Panasonic VT30 65" 3D TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
Bedroom HTPC: Zotac-ID 41 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD, Rii micro keyboard remote, Samsung HW-E550, Sony Google TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
find quote
yabsie Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Internet
Post: #1228
Everyone keeps saying that instant queues dont work, I want to try and fix them, but thanks to the slow rollout (in canada at least) I dont have instant queues myself

I will say this again

If someone will post a debug log of you trying to access your instant queue it i very likely I can fix it, It may take a couple of tries but if l ANYONE out there will take the 5 minutes out it will help a lot of people.

(its because Im Canadian isnt it? you're all prejudice )
find quote
lucanoid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #1229
Hi Yabsie,

I am away from home so I can't post a log at the moment. In the meantime, may I suggest you to use this service 7 days free trial to access the US version of Netflix http://www.unotelly.com/unodns/
find quote
Ickythump Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1230
Below is an excerpt from my xbmc.log when trying to access my instant queue. Not sure if this is the same problem described above but posting in case it helps.

00:00:16 T:2953318400 NOTICE: .. getAuth called ..
00:00:16 T:2953318400 NOTICE: OSX Setting is set to: True
00:00:16 T:2953318400 NOTICE: .. user configured ..
00:00:17 T:2953318400 NOTICE: Token did not contain any errors
00:00:17 T:2953318400 NOTICE: Authorize user access here: https://api-user.netf
lix.com/oauth/login?application_name=xbmcflix&oauth_consumer_key=YYYYY&oauth_token=ZZZZZ
00:00:17 T:2953318400 NOTICE: and then put this key / secret in MY_USER.request
:
'key': 'WWWWW',
'secret': 'XXXXX'
00:00:17 T:2953318400 NOTICE: and run again.
00:00:17 T:2953318400 NOTICE: open 'https://api-user.netflix.com/oauth/login?ap
plication_name=xbmcflix&oauth_consumer_key=YYYYY&oauth_token=
ZZZZZ'
00:00:30 T:2953318400 NOTICE: The dialog was displayed, hopefully you read the
text and waited until you authorized it before clicking ok.
00:00:30 T:2953318400 NOTICE: user key set to: WWWWW
00:00:30 T:2953318400 NOTICE: user secret set to: XXXXX
00:00:30 T:2953318400 ERROR: Error Type: <class 'httplib.BadStatusLine'>
00:00:30 T:2953318400 ERROR: Error Contents:
00:00:30 T:2953318400 ERROR: Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/Users/xbmc/Library/Appl
ication Support/XBMC/addons/spudsdude-XBMC-Flicks-a644263/default.py", line 26,
in <module>
import resources.lib.menu as men
u
File "/Users/xbmc/Library/Appl
ication Support/XBMC/addons/spudsdude-XBMC-Flicks-a644263/resources/lib/menu.py"
, line 674, in <module>
getInstantGenres()
File "/Users/xbmc/Library/Appl
ication Support/XBMC/addons/spudsdude-XBMC-Flicks-a644263/resources/lib/iqueue.p
y", line 1561, in getInstantGenres
initApp()
File "/Users/xbmc/Library/Appl
ication Support/XBMC/addons/spudsdude-XBMC-Flicks-a644263/resources/lib/iqueue.p
y", line 1375, in initApp
user = getAuth(netflixClient,VER
BOSE_USER_LOG)
File "/Users/xbmc/Library/Application Support/XBMC/addons/spudsdude-XBMC-Flicks-a644263/resources/lib/iqueue.py", line 86, in getAuth
tok = netflix.user.getAccessToken( MY_USER['request'] )
File "/Users/xbmc/Library/Application Support/XBMC/addons/spudsdude-XBMC-Flicks-a644263/resources/lib/Netflix.py", line 74, in getAccessToken
response = client.connection.getresponse()
File "/Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Frameworks/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 986, in getresponse
response.begin()
File "/Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Frameworks/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 391, in begin
version, status, reason = self._read_status()
File "/Applications/XBMC.app/Contents/Frameworks/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 355, in _read_status
raise BadStatusLine(line)
BadStatusLine
00:00:30 T:2893318696 ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://plugin.video.xbmcflicks/?mode=10001
00:00:30 T:2893318696 ERROR: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory(plugin://plugin.video.xbmcflicks/?mode=10001) failed


I also did a quick wireshark capture and I see the two requests go out to the api site but only see a response back for the first one. The request looks OK at a glance but I don't see any reply (will look a bit closer tomorrow).

UPDATE: Just to be sure I removed XMBC Flicks and then installed the version from yubsie but get the same error (with yubsie paths instead of spudsdude...)
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-28 07:43 by Ickythump.)
find quote
Post Reply