Broken Packages / dependency error installing Dharma
Sad 
Just tried to install Dharma on Ubuntu Karmic, via synaptic. It uninstalled my previous XBMC version (9.x) and now I get this error when I try to install the latest version.

I'm pretty new to Linux, so I'm not sure why, or how to work around this.

revo:~$ sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc-standalone
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
xbmc: Depends: xbmc-data (= 2:10.00~svn35648-karmic1) but it is not going to be installed
Depends: xbmc-skin-confluence (= 2:10.00~svn35648-karmic1) but it is not going to be installed
xbmc-standalone: Depends: xbmc-data (= 2:10.00~svn35648-karmic1) but it is not going to be installed
Depends: xbmc-skin-confluence (= 2:10.00~svn35648-karmic1) but it is not going to be installed
E: Broken packages

Thanks for helping if you can
also getting the exact same error message
yup, karmic packages
I'm also getting the same error message when trying to install the latest version.

I really don't know what to do now

Can anyone help please?

Cheers
technomonkey Wrote:I'm also getting the same error message when trying to install the latest version.

I really don't know what to do now

Can anyone help please?

Cheers
we need new top level package to be added to the ppa, nothing we can do
really? so I can't upgrade to Dharma?
technomonkey Wrote:really? so I can't upgrade to Dharma?

you could compile from source or download the src deb and fix the dependency or just wait until the guys here fix the PPA

I am opting for the last option Smile
We're looking into it, it's vdpau related.

TheUni