Movie Seek Position?
Total newbie with a probable RTFM question here, but when I am playing a movie (either from a DVD ISO or ripped VOB file) I cannot find a way to seek to a certain position in the movie.

There is an option to fast forward, but I can't find any kind of draggable position bar that allows me to zip to 1:05.00 (for example). When playing a movie off the ISO I can skip to the next chapter, but I am really used to VLC where I can just zip to the part I am interested in.

Thanks
Up, Down, Left and Right for large and small skips or simply type in 1:05.00 to jump to that point.
That's not a feature of XBMC at the moment. You can, on the other hand, use the numbers buttons on the remote to enter a time to seek to, ex. entering 2 3 5 0 0 will take me to 2 hours 35 minutes 00 seconds into the video file.
Awesome...perfect. Thanks for helping out the new guy. XBMC Rocks!
Wow, no seek bar in XBMC? I am new to it (just playing around with the iPad version), and no seek bar is a total non-starter. A seek bar is such a basic must-have feature I'm just stunned XBMC doesn't have it.
Chriscic Wrote:Wow, no seek bar in XBMC? I am new to it (just playing around with the iPad version), and no seek bar is a total non-starter. A seek bar is such a basic must-have feature I'm just stunned XBMC doesn't have it.

XBMC is designed to run on your TV while you're relaxing in your armchair with a whiskey and soda and controlling the system with a remote controller (or possibly your iPhone if you're a young upstart). It does support a mouse, but the mouse isn't seen as the primary input device, hence there's no priority to adding a clickable seek bar. XBMC isn't a media player, it's a media centre.

If XBMC on the iPad takes off then I can see a seek bar would be more useful. Like everything in XBMC, it depends on someone deciding this is an important feature to code. I'm sure volunteers would be welcome.

JR