XBMC under Windows 7 on an Asrock ion
Does anyone have any experience running XBMC 10.0 (Dharma) on an Asrock ion 330 using Win 7 as the OS. At this time I am running Dharma live (linux) on the machine with no issues, But I am interested in trying it under win 7.

I would like to be able to have several (2 or 3) apps open at the same time in Windows with two minimized and the third one being displayed in the foreground.

It is my intent to have one of the running apps monitoring a TCP port getting commands from an iPAD and controlling any other apps via windows messaging, or tcp to the local host (127.0.0.0) or send keys. I am an experienced windows programmer (VB) but am not that familiar with the XBMC nuances as a windows app.

When done, and if successful I would be more than willing to share my work.

I would appreciate any comments, warnings, "been there ..." etc.

TIA,

Barry
I use XBMC on a Revo 3610 and it works very well. The Asrock uses the same processor and chipset so it should work equally well. The Atom 330 seems to be generally regarded as puny, but it's still a good processor and has no problems running multiple apps as long as they aren't too CPU hungry. However I doubt you'll enjoy running Visual Studio 2010 on that machine, and I should know because I tried it :-) I assume you'll be doing the development work on your workstation.

XBMC is designed to be controlled remotely and has several interfaces available. The recommend one is JSONRPC. This isn't as scary as it looks at first glance. I knocked together some Python scripts to play with JSONRPC at the sockets level, and these would be a good guide as to how to do it in C++ if you wanted to use that approach.

I must admit, from an iPad I'd probably use VNC or an RDP client rather than trying to code up some cludge sending keystrokes.

JR
JHSrennie,