Last minute HTPC advice
I’m a relative newbie trying to set up multiple HTPCs for some friends and family. I’m going to start with one, and then hopefully duplicate that success.

I quickly decided that I wanted to use XBMC Live, and after lurking around these forums for the last couple weeks, I think I am going to go with:

Shuttle XS35GT (barebones)
Ram: 2GB Kingston PC2-6400
SSD: OCZ Vertex 30GB
Remote: Hauppauge MCE remote control kit or Harmony One

However, I’m still considering

1) Acer Aspire R3700, based on what seems to be widespread satisfaction
2) Zotac ZBOXHD-ND22-U, based largely on MidnightWatcher’s post here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?p=7...post702963

Here is a summary of my situation:

-these boxes will be 100% dedicated as media centers, sitting next to the TV
-I would like to use XBMC Live, so I can avoid windows
-I’ll be using a NAS device for local media, so no need for a large hard drive. Playing the local media (movies, music) smoothly at the highest quality is my chief concern
-full 1080p support
-no need for an optical drive
-needs to be relatively quiet
-I would like to be able to use Netflix, youtube, hulu, etc. I haven’t played around with XBMC too much, and I’ve seen a lot of things referenced a lot (sabnzbd, sickbeard) that I am not familiar with, but I’m sure I want all that stuff too!

Any advice will be seriously appreciated!
My advice (take it or leave it) is simple! Don't be scared to experiment and do not hold back Big Grin

Building your HTPC will be fun. You will have tons of questions and will learn a lot through the whole process. My chief piece of advice is to build a media server and then use the HTPC as a front-end client to stream all of your media over the network. This eliminates the need for tons of local storage in the HTPC. Also, the media server would handle things such as sabnzbd, sick beard, and couch potato (all another story).