HOW-TO Play Live TV/Internet Video in XBMC (including some sample streams!)

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
firefox27 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #151
(2015-03-21 01:27)blueeyiz702 Wrote:  I made txt file dropped stream in with parameters,but kodi isn't seeing it,and when I do try to watch stream it is not working? any ideas to fix? thanks

Are you using android box or PC?
find
johndough Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #152
Where do i put strm file in kodi.
Ta
find
nickr Offline
Super Moderator
Posts: 13,786
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 265
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #153
Any video source. Ie same place as any other video file.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
(This post was last modified: 2015-03-21 21:55 by nickr.)
find
blueeyiz702 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 1
Location: Las Vegas,Nevada
Post: #154
(2015-03-21 16:49)firefox27 Wrote:  
(2015-03-21 01:27)blueeyiz702 Wrote:  I made txt file dropped stream in with parameters,but kodi isn't seeing it,and when I do try to watch stream it is not working? any ideas to fix? thanks

Are you using android box or PC?

im on Lenovo thinkpad using windows 7 home premium
find
danel1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #155
I have a legit cable subscription. One of the features is "TVanywhere" that serves to allow me to watch some of my channels via the net on an ipad and other devices. I have a TV setup where its not possible to get coax to it so Im basically using the TV with a nexus player and Kodi. Id like to play my TVanywhere stream via Kodi to said TV. Ive looked into using .strm files in this forum but I havnt had much luck. One thing is that I have to "log in" to the stream and Im sure that is what is holding me back. Any advice would be appreciated.
find
kstefanec Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #156
I have tried the method laid out by creating a .strm file. It is NOT .strm.txt. Neither my PC version of Kodi or my AndroidTV version of Kodi can see the files. What am I and many others on this forum doing wrong? I understand the frustration of many of the other folks on this thread who just want straight answers and not cryptic gobblygook. We know you've all taken the time to learn this, but, please listen to what people are saying and take the time to help, not prove how smart you are. Okay, blast me if you want, but all we're looking for is a little help! Thanks! Smile

BTW, I would like to stream this address-
http://www.filmon.com/tv/channel/export?channel_id=2677
(This post was last modified: 2015-06-03 02:13 by kstefanec.)
find
nickr Offline
Super Moderator
Posts: 13,786
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 265
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #157
Where did you store the strm file? Is it in a directory you can navigate to via Kodi's interface? Please post a directory listing and the contents of the strm file.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find
kstefanec Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #158
I stored it in c: >> Program Files >> Kodi. The file is listed as a STRM file in the Type column. I placed the address in the file. The address is http://www.filmon.com/tv/channel/export?channel_id=2677

I cannot see it in Kodi but I can in Windows.
find
nickr Offline
Super Moderator
Posts: 13,786
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 265
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #159
Kodi does not look for media files in c:\program files\kodi

You need to put the file in a directory that you have added as a source in kodi.

Try starting here First_time_user (wiki)

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
(This post was last modified: 2015-06-03 05:15 by nickr.)
find
Lisa_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #160
(2015-06-03 02:24)nickr Wrote:  Where did you store the strm file? Is it in a directory you can navigate to via Kodi's interface? Please post a directory listing and the contents of the strm file.

I created a file NASA TV.strm put it on a 4 GB thumb drive along with a movie plugged it into the USB port on my Raspberry Pi then navigated to the thumb drive I can see the movie but not the NASA TV.strm file.

Suggestions?
find
nickr Offline
Super Moderator
Posts: 13,786
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 265
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #161
Well then it is either misnamed or unreadable. What does a directory listing show? SSH in and run
Code:
ls -l /path/to/drive
You can discover where in the filesystem the drive is with
Code:
mount

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find
DVRfun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #162
Is there a simple way to add xmltv data for IPTV add-on?
find
tvjpn102 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #163
hi!, i need some help to make work this stream in kodi (like playlist, xml or strm file):

http://tercermilenio.tv

i'm trying using coojah to extract the streaming data but when i want to navigate with the coojah active my firefox is blocked and nothing happend, so i'm using the rtmpdump to extract the data of the streaming and this is what i have:

for VOD programs:

rtmpdump -r "rtmp://216.227.135.204:1935/vod" -a "vod" -f "WIN 18,0,0,209" -W "h
ttp://www.streaminglatam.com/vod/public/common/player.swf?id=1&type=channel&lang
=es&stamp=2&autoplay=1&embedded=0&nobtplist=1&nobtfwd=1&nobtback=1&nopbar=1" -p
"http://www.streaminglatam.com/vod/embed.php?type=channel&id=1&w=640&h=360&nobtb
ack=1&nobtfwd=1&nobtplist=1&nopbar=1&embedded=0&autoplay=1" -y "mp4:clip_2041_14
40964761_hq.mp4" -o mp4_clip_2041_1440964761_hq.flv

for live programs:

rtmpdump -r "rtmp://50.7.98.234/tercermilenio/" -a "tercermilenio/" -f "WIN 18,0
,0,209" -W "http://p.jwpcdn.com/6/12/jwplayer.flash.swf" -p "http://conceptoweb-
studio.com/radio/video/tercermilenio/" -y ":videotercermilenio" -o _videotercermilenio.flv


This streaming is working in 2 diferent forms, in some hours is in VOD format and in other hours they have live programs, so i need to extract 2 diferents streamings for when they have recorded programs watch one stream and when they have live program watch it in other stream.

Thank you if someone can help me to extract the correct data with the coojah and recopiled in a mode like kodi can play it Smile
(This post was last modified: 2015-09-03 03:55 by tvjpn102.)
find
mcrs Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #164
Hello, I have a question.
Is there a way to assign the icon to the stream (one icon = one channel for all items in .strm playlist) and show all the icons in Kodi GUI in a big list mode?
If Kodi does not provide functionality with streaming playlists except for playing it straight, is there a specific plugin for organizing and decorating the streaming playlists?
find
skarragallagher Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #165
Was wondering if there was a way to make my STRM files show as watched or unwatched?
find
Thread Closed