HOW-TO Play Live TV/Internet Video in XBMC (including some sample streams!)

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
Philmatic Offline
Fan
Posts: 472
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 2
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Post: #16
jhsrennie Wrote:Have you considered setting up a repository on Github or Sourceforge to maintain the .strm files?

JR

I'd be interested in developing/hosting the index for this. Maintaining and hosting the strm files on a server is better in case the stream changes.

Living Room: ASUS Chromebox / OpeneElec 5 / Kodi 14.2
Bedroom: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Home Office: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Windows Server: Intel Core i3-2100T / 8GB Ram / 48TB / MySQL / StableBit DrivePool on Server 2012 R2 Standard
find
PatK Offline
Donor
Posts: 4,861
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 106
Location: Canada
Star   
Post: #17
Philmatic Wrote:I'd be interested in developing/hosting the index for this. Maintaining and hosting the strm files on a server is better in case the stream changes.
It's a bit of work... this listing are almost identical to the lists I used to keep for an early version of Miro, I had 300+ and left them on the site... went back too look and everything has changed. Would be nice if someone would write a program that would buffer and allow graceful exits from dead links.
find
uncertainty Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Jersey
Post: #18
PatK Wrote:It's a bit of work... this listing are almost identical to the lists I used to keep for an early version of Miro, I had 300+ and left them on the site... went back too look and everything has changed. Would be nice if someone would write a program that would buffer and allow graceful exits from dead links.

Heh, we need a "watson-lite" not only to remove the dead links but also create the new ones......Which I bet someone will code in the near future.
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-16 06:00 by uncertainty.)
find
patm95 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
I am having trouble getting xbmc to "see" the file. I have pasted the text for Al Jazeera English into notepad, save as AJ.strm, drop it in my videos folder. But when I go to open it in xbmc, it doesn't "see" it. I have tried this for Russia Today and Cspan as well and can't get any to work. I must be doing something fundamentally wrong.
find
patm95 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Philmatic Wrote:Very nice, thanks!



Make sure you aren't in library mode.

Thanks, but it doesn't seem to work even when I am not in library mode. I just go to that directory and it is like there is nothing there. For example I have a folder with misc videos. I can go to that folder and see all of my videos, but if I put the strm file in there, I can't see it.
find
Philmatic Offline
Fan
Posts: 472
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 2
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Post: #21
patm95 Wrote:Thanks, but it doesn't seem to work even when I am not in library mode. I just go to that directory and it is like there is nothing there. For example I have a folder with misc videos. I can go to that folder and see all of my videos, but if I put the strm file in there, I can't see it.

Weird... are you running at least XBMC 10.0? What platform?

Living Room: ASUS Chromebox / OpeneElec 5 / Kodi 14.2
Bedroom: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Home Office: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Windows Server: Intel Core i3-2100T / 8GB Ram / 48TB / MySQL / StableBit DrivePool on Server 2012 R2 Standard
find
patm95 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Philmatic Wrote:Weird... are you running at least XBMC 10.0? What platform?

yeah I am running 10.1 and using windows 7 (64 bit). I am using notepad to save these files. Just doing a save as *.strm where "*" is just the name of file. I have tried this using different skins thinking that could have something to do with it, but no luck.
find
Philmatic Offline
Fan
Posts: 472
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 2
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Post: #23
patm95 Wrote:yeah I am running 10.1 and using windows 7 (64 bit). I am using notepad to save these files. Just doing a save as *.strm where "*" is just the name of file. I have tried this using different skins thinking that could have something to do with it, but no luck.

Ah, you probably have Windows set to "Hide extensions for known file types" and the file you saved is actually called AJ.strm.txt

Disabled that feature, and rename the file to just "AJ.strm".

Living Room: ASUS Chromebox / OpeneElec 5 / Kodi 14.2
Bedroom: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Home Office: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Windows Server: Intel Core i3-2100T / 8GB Ram / 48TB / MySQL / StableBit DrivePool on Server 2012 R2 Standard
find
patm95 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
patm95 Wrote:yeah I am running 10.1 and using windows 7 (64 bit). I am using notepad to save these files. Just doing a save as *.strm where "*" is just the name of file. I have tried this using different skins thinking that could have something to do with it, but no luck.

Thanks! I thought I was going crazy! Works like a charm now!
find
nokian Offline
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
Danfred, you're good.

Can you figure out this one: http://www.alhiwar.tv
I tried all possibilities and could not figure it out.

The following work for a limited session:
http://www.ceskatelevize.cz/ct1/zive/
http://www.ceskatelevize.cz/ct2/zive/
http://www.ct24.cz/vysilani/
find
divingmule Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,312
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #26
This thread inspired me to make an add-on alternative to .strm files.
Details here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=97116
find
danfred Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
ABC News 24 (Australia)
Code:
rtmp://cp103653.live.edgefcs.net:1935/live?_fcs_vhost=cp103653.live.edgefcs.net&akmfv=1.8 playpath=international_medium@36382 swfVfy=true live=true

NASA HD
Code:
rtmp://flash86.ustream.tv:1935/ustreamVideo/6540154 playpath=streams/live app=ustreamVideo/6540154 swfUrl="http://cdn1.ustream.tv/swf/4/viewer.rsl.558.swf" pageUrl="http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/ustream.html" live=true
find
PatK Offline
Donor
Posts: 4,861
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 106
Location: Canada
Star   
Post: #28
divingmule Wrote:This thread inspired me to make an add-on alternative to .strm files.
Details here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=97116
This plugin may prove to be the better way... I've heard talk of XBMC no longer having fileview.. nicely done thank-you
find
uncertainty Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Jersey
Post: #29
danfred Wrote:NASA HD
Code:
rtmp://flash86.ustream.tv:1935/ustreamVideo/6540154 playpath=streams/live app=ustreamVideo/6540154 swfUrl="http://cdn1.ustream.tv/swf/4/viewer.rsl.558.swf" pageUrl="http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/ustream.html" live=true

Very nice , I had Nasa but not the HD flavor....What a difference...

thx
find
Philmatic Offline
Fan
Posts: 472
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 2
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Post: #30
danfred Wrote:NASA HD
Code:
rtmp://flash86.ustream.tv:1935/ustreamVideo/6540154 playpath=streams/live app=ustreamVideo/6540154 swfUrl="http://cdn1.ustream.tv/swf/4/viewer.rsl.558.swf" pageUrl="http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/ustream.html" live=true

This one doesn't seem to work for me, it just launches IE in fullscreen mode with a "page cannot be found error".

Can Justin.TV links be parsed and broken down using rtmpdump? There are some channels I would really like to see in XBMC (CNN, MSNBC).

Living Room: ASUS Chromebox / OpeneElec 5 / Kodi 14.2
Bedroom: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Home Office: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Windows Server: Intel Core i3-2100T / 8GB Ram / 48TB / MySQL / StableBit DrivePool on Server 2012 R2 Standard
find
Thread Closed