opinions on ubuntu install with no knowledge of linux
Hi guys,

after some honest opinions here pls,

i have no knowledge of linux, i've bought a new barebone system (asrock vision 3d) tried installing live on it, had nothing but problems, nobody has been able to come up with a solution yet,

there s appears to be an error with the nvida driver but at present i have no way of updating it as all i get is a black screen with some writting about ubuntu error nvidia

with no linux experience would you try to install ubuntu desktop on the system and see if i can get that working then go from there or shall i bite the bullit and purchase windows 7? i previously install xbmc on my win 7 laptop to try it out and it's everything ive ever wanted for my front room system

thanks in advance for any input
I think standard ubuntu will work. Give that a try first. You can try both 10.04 (same as Live) and the newer 10.10.

Have you looked in the forum for someone else with the same box? If you can find someone that can get it working he coild make you a clonezilla recovery cd that will duplicate his system.
thank you vikjon0 i have it on cd already to go just wanted to wait in case it was a bad move, i'll try it now and see how i go, this is really starting to get to me

good idea about seeing if anyone else has the rock too
I see there is a linux driver available...

You have installed live but it does not start? I think the quickest solution is to actually learn to install it manually.....

http://uk.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Li...index.html
Something like this should work. (you might have to install some more stuff but the readme does say so....)

Login into the command prompt and:
Quote:mkdir Downloads
cd Downloads

sudo apt-get install wget

wget http://uk.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Li....19.36.run

sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-260.19.36.run
http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/linux-dis...er-uk.html

I am not sure but you may want to to this first