Weather Radar
I'm a programmer but not really a python or plugin developer but I did manager to hack some code together that downloads animated weather radar as the Weather backdrop specified on the custom skin settings screens. I tried just placing a single animated .gif file as the background but didn't find any that worked so what I wound up doing was writing code to extract all the layers to individual .png files. I also played with downloading sites with sequential jpg images but that's more of a hack than even I'm used to doing due to too many filename schemes.

I had to manually change a few settings in home.xml for how long to display each image and change randomize to false. One major issue was that even though new images were placed into the watched folder XBMC was not refreshing the cache. Using sqlite3 code I find the cached images in Textures.db, delete the cached files from Thumnails then remove the cache records from the texture table which seems to work even if I'm on the weather tab at the time.

View My Video

Questions and things I need to change

1. I need to use XBMC functions for the SQL work otherwise the script will not work with MySql. What's the best was to implement those functions with the XBMC framework?

2. Are there any issues with deleting thumbnails and cache records as long as they're ones I create? Playing around I did wind up with a few orphan png files and texture records but that was due to various naming schemes I was playing with. According to thumbnail wiki XBMC should detect the files are new.

"3. We generate a hash of the image, based on size and modified date, that we can use to check whether the original image has changed or not."