[ATV2] HOW-TO position XBMC button in first spot on ATV menu

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
EvilMonkey Offline
Donor
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 1
Location: Germany
Lightbulb  [ATV2] HOW-TO position XBMC button in first spot on ATV menu
Post: #1
hello,

i know that this is not exactly an XBMC thing, but i think there might be others who want the thing i just achieved for their ATV as well.

i was getting annoyed bei XBMC being the fourth button on th ATV menu. i have an ATV2 with just nitoTV installed and XBMC. so XBMC will be positioned after Movies, nitTV and Internet.

since i only have the ATV2 for XBMC, i wanted to optimize where XBMC is in the menu. Overflow was not an option for me, since i still would not be having XBMC in the first spot of the ATV menu.

if you want to do this, you only need to edit two files! Big Grin connect to your ATV either using SSH or like me, using a ftp client through a SFTP connection (use root as user).

WATCH OUT! STEP 2 HAS TO BE REDONE EVERYTIME YOU ARE UPDATEING XBMC!

1st file to edit: /Applications/AppleTV.app/Appliances/Movies.frappliance/Info.plist

look for those lines
Code:
<key>FRAppliancePreferedOrderValue</key>
<real>0.0</real>
and change the value in between real-tag to 2.0 - save file and close.

2nd file to edit: /Applications/XBMC.frappliance/Info.plist

look for those lines
Code:
<key>FRAppliancePreferedOrderValue</key>
<integer>2</integer>
and change the value in between integer-tag to 0 - save file and close.

after that yuo can simply reboot your ATV2 using nitoTV and after that you should be greeted with XBMC in first place of the menu. you can of course change the values and therefore the position of all menu options to your liking. XBMC in first was just the one i was looking for.

hopefully this little "hack" is useful to others. l8r. Cool

Me German. Me not speach English very ok. ;)
(This post was last modified: 2011-02-20 02:15 by EvilMonkey.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,278
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 114
Location: germany
Post: #2
Cool ... I will try that!
find quote
Fire69 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 4
Post: #3
Nice find! Nod

You wouldn't happen to know if editing some files will start XBMC automatically by any chance? Big Grin
find quote
Maetrik Offline
Donor
Posts: 417
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Berlin, Germany
Post: #4
Great, was looking for that Smile
find quote
Bumpaneer Offline
Donor
Posts: 128
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 7
Post: #5
What are you using to edit the file? When I try to open it, the file does not appear to be in plain text.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,278
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 114
Location: germany
Post: #6
Plist Editor on Mac osx i think...
find quote
EvilMonkey Offline
Donor
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 1
Location: Germany
Post: #7
Fire69 Wrote:Nice find! Nod

You wouldn't happen to know if editing some files will start XBMC automatically by any chance? Big Grin

sadly: no. this would be my desired solution also. i didn't find any plist-files that seem to trigger the start of lowtide, so i stuck with re-ordering the menu and just having to click the remote once.

Me German. Me not speach English very ok. ;)
find quote
EvilMonkey Offline
Donor
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 1
Location: Germany
Post: #8
Bumpaneer Wrote:What are you using to edit the file? When I try to open it, the file does not appear to be in plain text.

since i own a mac, TextWrangler has always been my editor of choice.
http://www.barebones.com/products/textwrangler/

Me German. Me not speach English very ok. ;)
find quote
Bumpaneer Offline
Donor
Posts: 128
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 7
Post: #9
For the other windows users out there I just grabbed
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Programming...dows.shtml

Worked well for me. Thanks for the howto.
find quote
CASHMON3Y Offline
Donor
Posts: 395
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 14
Location: Detroit, MI
Post: #10
For autostarting, I found this article on fire-core. I think its for the first gen, but since they both ran roughly the same OS maybe it would work? http://forum.firecore.com/topic/1013

Server - Debain Squeeze Server + 6TB RAID5 + Sabnzbd + CP & SB
HTPC - Zotac MAG + 60GB Vertex 2 SSD + OpenELEC Frodo 12.1 + Aeon Nox
HTPC 2 - AppleTV 2
find quote
mrdally204 Offline
Fan
Posts: 403
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Ohio
Post: #11
Hi,
I'm a windows user here and have not been able to open the files with success. I've tried notepad, notepad++, open office writer with all the same result. The lines I'm looking for just do not exist. The real tags are nowhere to be found. Can you give an app that may work in a windows environment?

Edit. answer was posted before I refreshed. Works like a charm thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2011-02-19 23:17 by mrdally204.)
find quote
Bumpaneer Offline
Donor
Posts: 128
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 7
Post: #12
Look back two posts...
find quote
Fire69 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 4
Post: #13
CASHMON3Y Wrote:For autostarting, I found this article on fire-core. I think its for the first gen, but since they both ran roughly the same OS maybe it would work? http://forum.firecore.com/topic/1013

As far as I know, the original AppleTV used an entirely different OS (stripped down OSX), so I doubt it if this will work.
find quote
freaksworth Offline
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: May 2006
Reputation: 2
Post: #14
perl script for handling .plist files in linux/windows:
http://scw.us/iPhone/plutil/

freaksworth is not connected to or in any other way affiliated with XBMC, Team XBMC, or the XBMC Foundation.
find quote
Prasket00 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
awesome, thank you!
find quote
Post Reply