Newbie Questions (General)
Hello,

I am new to the whole HTPC / Media Server / XBMC scene and so I have a bunch of general questions.

1. What is the main difference with say running an XBMC box versus buying for example, the "Western Digital Media Player"?

The main reason that I ask is, if I can buy the Western Digital Media player for $100, but if I need to upgrade my spare computer that costs more than $100, it would be nice to know why I am spending the extra $$$.

2. Can the XBMC serve content to a DLNA certified device?

The spare computer that I have for potentially running the XBMC server does not have an HDMI out port. I do have a Samsung Blu-ray player though that is DLNA certified and connects to the network.

In order to save costs, I was wondering if I could essentially play content from the XBMC through the DLNA Blu-ray player? Hence saving the need to purchase a specific HMDI out video card.

3. Can you remotely control the XBMC with say a netbook?

The spare computer is rather large and noisy, and I would prefer not to have it in the living room beside the TV. The best place would be in the basement where no one can hear it. I have a network connection down there so that is not a problem, but obviously it would be a pain to have to go *down* to the basement in order to select something to play.

I have a netbook which I use all the time for surfing the web, and was wondering if I could use it as essentially a "remote-control" and control the XBMC with it?

I hope my questions are clear and not to wordy!

Thanks for any help, suggestions or comments.

Hugh
Quote:1. What is the main difference with say running an XBMC box versus buying for example, the "Western Digital Media Player"?