Xbmc 101
Hello all!

Been lurking, reading, searching and more reading, but as a complete XBMC novice i have some (no doubt stupid and obvious) questions. My apologies in advance if this info is elsewhere, i'm just a bit overwhelmed at the mo.

My setup: installed XBMC on Win XP desktop to 'get the hang of it'. Ultimate plan is to build a high-performance HTPC and run XBMC on Ubuntu.

MUSIC: Artist name / (Year) Album / xx - Title.mp3. All ID3 tagged, art embedded + every folder also has a folder.jpg.
FILMS: All in one folder / Title (year).avi
TV: Show / Show - Season x / Show 00x00 Title.avi

OK so that gives you an idea of my organisation, which i hope is on the right track. Now, my stupid questions.

Q1 - I am using external HDDs for my media. Do i need to import all these files onto my PCs hard disk for XBMC to manage them, and are there any advantages with this?

Q2 - When i start scraping all the fan art, .nfo files for my TV shows and films, where will/should those .nfo/image files be actually stored? Does XBMC store them in a central directory (is that the library?) or does it store them with your media files (in my case, on the extenal HDD)? If there is a choice, which is better?

Thank you if you even read all this, and thank you even more if you are thinking of answering!

Has anyone written XBMC For Dummies yet? If not, they should!

YY
The very best thing to do is read the quick start guide first.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...tart_Guide

Unless I'm missing something, your folder structure looks fine. XBMC does not need any nfos, and, unless they are created correctly, including nfos with the files can DRAMATICALLY screw up the initial XBMC scrape of your files. Once your files have been scraped, everything will be stored in a central sql database, though you can export all the info to nfo files if you like.

External drives work just as well as internal drives. No need to mess with anything there, if you don't want to.