Playing media accessed via JSON-RPC - help!
Hi,

Semi-noob here.

I'm experimenting with the JSON-RPC at the moment. I can retrieve everything fine, dump records as list items and display them... All good, so much better than the HTTP-API :-)

However, I cannot get the onclick behaviour (i.e. play the damn movie) to work. The closest I've got is below - see the commented out movieListItem.setpath. Using the xbmc.player method seems to just play the first list item automatically.

Anyone able to help?

Cheers!
theDeadMan.

Code:
movieRecords = simplejson.loads(xbmc.executeJSONRPC('{"jsonrpc": "2.0", "method": "VideoLibrary.GetRecentlyAddedMovies","params":{"end":5,"fields": ["year","runtime"]},"id":1}'))
        movieList = movieRecords["result"]["movies"]
        for movie in movieList:            
            movieListItem = xbmcgui.ListItem()
            movieListItem.setLabel(movie["label"])
            movieListItem.setLabel2(str(movie["year"])+" • "+str(movie["runtime"])+" minutes")
            #movieListItem.setPath(xbmc.Player().play(movie["file"]))
            movieListItem.setThumbnailImage(movie["thumbnail"])
            self.xbmcListItems.append(movieListItem)
XBMC.Play(movieid=X) as jsonrpc method
If you have problems please read this before posting

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

"Well Im gonna download the code and look at it a bit but I'm certainly not a really good C/C++ programer but I'd help as much as I can, I mostly write in C#."
Thanks Topfs2,

JSON-RPC method you suggested works, but essentially ends up causing the same problem. As soon as the script populates the list, XBMC still tries to play the first movie (as set by the listitem.setpath) without any click / other input from me.