[issue] Home Menu Images Delay
Question 
Hitcher,

Upon entering the home screen, after the menu image frames display I see the "Thumb Not Available" in the backdrop area (within the frames) for ~1 second before the backdrops fill in... is this intentional?

My PC is very fast for XBMC: E7400, 6GB RAM, Win7 x64, 100% on SSD.

thx for the help
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
The fallback image is loaded before the other image/s because they're background loaded.

I could remove the fallback image altogether.
Hitcher Wrote:The fallback image is loaded before the other image/s because they're background loaded.

I could remove the fallback image altogether.

I would, even blank looks better than a fallback. I'd have thought that the logic for fallback would be more as 'fail over' ...

IF <assigned image> does not exist or fails to load THEN load <fallback image>
I have noticed this behaviour aswell, and it really is annoying when you're used to seeing images load instantly. Since i'm popping in and out of the Home screen quite a lot while browsing around xbmc it's been somewhat of a showstopper in migrating to 2.8+
A possible feature request would be to split the "loading..." image away from the "fallback" image?
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

jmarshall Wrote:A possible feature request would be to split the "loading..." image away from the "fallback" image?

I don't know exactly what you mean, probably because I don't know how the code logic works. I assumed that the skin engine had logic similar to...

IF <assigned image> does not exist or fails to load THEN load <fallback image>

... this way it does not spin cycles loading a fallback unless the intended image cannot be loaded (does not exist, corrupt, etc)