optimum codec/containers for playback
okay. i'm going to be slowly going through and ripping all my DVDs into files for playback on XBMC, but i'm curious as to what settings i should use for the conversion. so, in short, what is the optimum for playback in XBMC?
I'm no expert (a long way from it tbh) but, as you're not getting a reply from anybody else I thought I'd give my 2 cents!

You'd probably be best off encoding with h264 into a mkv, or mp4 container. This is because h264 is hardware decoded on ATV2 and iDevices, and those containers are the most "modern" conatiners which support h264 content, and other features not supported by older formats such as avi. To be honest though standard definition content should playback fine in pretty much any format.

As for exact settings, I can't really help you I'm afraid because I don't really know. This article from Lifehacker might help if you're using Handbreak:
http://lifehacker.com/#!5610568/calculat...our-device
Failing that, there are quite a few websites and forums which specifically deal with video encoding, so it might be worth getting on Google and seeing what you can find
thanks for the reply, procrastinator. i've been leaning towards x264, as well, but wasn't sure if it'd go well into an avi container (my preference). so far, i've figured i'd go with:

either x264 or xvid video codecs (bitrate is still fuzzy on those)
a52/AC3 audio (i use optical out to a DD 5.1 surround system)

i'm also going to be using VLC.. it seems to be the most direct and user-friendly approach, as well.
Personally, I'm a bit wary of avi. As I said in my last post, I'm no expert, but the encoding program that I normally use (Handbrake) recently dropped support for avi output, and when well-regarded programs stop supporting stuff like that you can see where its headed. Here's what they said on the Handbrake wiki re: dropping avi output:

Quote:Why did you drop AVI output?¶