Noob Question Is this possible
I am new to xbmc. I have xbmc loaded on an Aspire Revo 1600. The OS is xubunto. I plan to use this setup in our Football Office to handle all of our videos. We get the videos on Digital Tape (DVC) and DVD. I want to load the videos onto xbmc and then the coaches will be able to select which video they would like to view from the menu. My hurdles are:

1. Finding the best way to get the videos into xbmc
2. Getting the Aspire to display on our TV using the A/V inputs. (Sorry we can't afford a flat panel HD unit).
3. Finding a good remote control that has good response time and handles slow motion and frame by frame advance.
4. Setting it up on the network to view on another PC. I don't expect this to be while someone is watching on the main screen but I have a PC setup at the Coaches desk which I can assume the user can vnc into the xubuntu box and run xbmc through vnc.
5. Be able to export to DVD from xbmc from a menu option or use a seprate program.

So any people on the forum that are using xbmc in this way I'd appreciate a comment back. All of our videos are not copyrighted so I don't have to worry about that.
Hi. Welcome to the forums.

1. Network shares. SMB, NFS, etc
2. Don't know. Shouldn't be hard with a VGA to RCA cable/converter.
3. I believe XBMC doesn't support frame-by-frame navigation. Wait for a dev's input.
4. See #1. No problem with this as long as the serving machine and network can handle it.
5. I don't know such functionality. I believe XBMC can't 'export to DVD'. Not in the core functionality, at least. You either find a software that can, some sort of XBMC add-on or you write the add-on yourself.

h.udo
f**k..... started editing without sudo | M.K.

Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).