[RELEASE] The Big Pictures

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,298
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 57
Location: Germany
Post: #136

I fixed the add-on and uploaded the fixed version you should receive an update shortly (max 24h).

Here is the changelog (everything should now work again)
- fixed The Big Picture Scraper (thx to Tobias Kühne)
- fixed AtlanticInFocus Scraper
- fixed SacBeeFrame Scraper
- fixed WallStreetJournal Scraper
- fixed TotallyCoolPix Scraper
- removed TimeLightbox Scraper
- removed NewYorkTimesLens Scraper
- improved performance on weak machines in The Big Picture and Atlantic in Focus


My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
braz Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,689
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 59
Post: #137
(2014-08-21 04:14)htpcero Wrote:  This is one of the best xbmc addons - thanks to the devs!

TheBigPicture has been working great for years. However since somewhere in the Gotham cycle, there is a minor annoyance.

Using XBMC (13.1 stable) - default theme (confluence), I added this add-on as a "Shortcut" in the Home Screen so that it shows up right below "Pictures" in XBMC's main screen.

Selecting the addon icon and presing "OK" in the remote launches the addon shortcut. This used to work just fine with TheBigPicture, but no longer does. Now clicking on the TBP shortcut produces no results. All other shortcuts (including Flickr) work just fine, only TBP broke somehow.

Tried removing the add-on, erasing the addon's folder and reinstalling, removing and re-adding the shortcut, etc etc, with no avail, The shortcut just refuses to work.

Any idea of what could be happening?
I'm using Kodi 15 Isengard, but I had the same experience. The Big Picture runs fine when run from the Picture Add-ons window, but couldn't get it to run from the Addon Information dialog or from a custom submenu item.

I was able to fix my submenu action by changing it from RunAddOn() to RunScript(). Not sure if it is an issue with the addon, Kodi, or SkinShortcuts.

Sphere...thanks for a very cool addon. Smile
(This post was last modified: 2015-03-24 21:37 by braz.)
find quote
mike_samaki Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 2
Post: #138
I love this addon and glad it exists for Kodi. Works perfectly on Kodi 15 Isengard!

I have a problem (nothing to do with the addon itself) which hopefully someone can help me out with. I'm trying to get the pictures to show up on my main menu (I'm using Xperience1080 btw). Bear in mind I'm still learning the ropes with Kodi so would fully understand if I did something rather noobish!

PHP Code:
09:52:25 T:2336  NOTICECommonFunctions-2.5.1
:52:25 T:2336  NOTICETheBigPictures Pluginrun started in photos-mode
:52:25 T:2336  NOTICETheBigPictures Pluginparams={'scraper_id''0''album_url''http://www.bostonglobe.com/news/bigpicture'}
09:52:25 T:2336  NOTICETheBigPictures Manager__init__ with enabled_scrapersNone
:52:25 T:2336  NOTICETheBigPictures Managerswitch_to_given_id id=0
:52:25 T:2336  NOTICETheBigPictures ScraperPlugin[TheBigPictures]: _get_html opening url "http://www.bostonglobe.com/news/bigpicture"
09:52:25 T:6704  NOTICE: [plugin.video.youtubeRunningYouTube (5.1.0on Isengard (15.0with Python 2.7.8
:52:26 T:7260   ERRORdll_fputs emulated function failed
:52:27 T:7260   ERRORPrevious line repeats 1 times.
09:52:27 T:7260 WARNINGNo information found for item 'F:\Movies\Crossroads 1986\Crossroads 1986.mkv'it won't be added to the library.
09:52:28 T:7260   ERROR: dll_fputs emulated function failed
09:52:28 T:2336  NOTICE: TheBigPictures ScraperPlugin[TheBigPictures]: get_tree received 324272 bytes
09:52:28 T:2336  NOTICE: TheBigPictures Manager: __del__
09:52:28 T:2336   ERROR: EXCEPTION Thrown (PythonToCppException) : -->Python callback/script returned the following error<--
                                             - NOTE: IGNORING THIS CAN LEAD TO MEMORY LEAKS!
                                            Error Type: <type '
                                            Error Contents: list index out of range
                                            Traceback (most recent call last):
                                              File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Kodi\portable_data\addons\script.image.bigpictures\plugin.py", line 66, in <module>
                                                show_photos(scraper_id, album_url)
                                              File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Kodi\portable_data\addons\script.image.bigpictures\plugin.py", line 33, in show_photos
                                                for photo in scraper_manager.get_photos(album_url):
                                              File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Kodi\portable_data\addons\script.module.bigpictures\lib\thebigpicture​s.py", line 80, in get_photos
                                                photos = self.current_scraper.get_photos(album_url)
                                              File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Kodi\portable_data\addons\script.module.bigpictures\lib\scrapers.py", line 60, in get_photos
                                                return self._photos.get(album_url) or self._get_photos(album_url)
                                              File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Kodi\portable_data\addons\script.module.bigpictures\lib\scrapers.py", line 150, in _get_photos
                                                description = stripTags(parseDOM(descs[_id], '
div', attrs={'class': 'gcaption geor'})[0])
                                            IndexError: list index out of range
                                            -->End of Python script error report<--
09:52:28 T:7740   ERROR: XFILE::CDirectory::GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://script.image.bigpictures/?scraper_id=0&album_url=http://www.bostonglobe.com/news/bigpicture 


I'm sorry if I'm asking this in the wrong place. Thanks for any help and thanks for this great addon!
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-05 09:07 by mike_samaki.)
find quote
dkplayaclub Offline
Posts: 669
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #139
In Focus - The Atlantic source does not work for me. All other sources load up really well, but when I try to access it I just get a never ending working pinwheel.
Is this a known bug?

EDIT - I also noticed that sometimes, selecting an album doesn't open the album, but is completely unresponsive. I haven't used this addon in a while, but I never had any issues in the past. I am testing on a Windows machine, running Kodi 15.1.
(This post was last modified: 2015-08-20 18:20 by dkplayaclub.)
find quote
Post Reply