[Request] Country105 - StreamTheWorld

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
DazNoonan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi all,

Not sure if possible, but wondered if there would be any way someone could create a plugin so no only could I listen to the Internet Radio Station of Country105 but it would also allow others to listen to anything from StreamTheWorld. I honestly would not know where to start, but here are the relevant links to the 2 areas in question:

Country105: http://www.country105.com/
SteamTheWorld: http://www.streamtheworld.com/

Thanks
Darren

Devices using XBMC
iMac | MacBook | MacBook Air | AppleTV2 | iPad | iPhone4
[Image: classic]
[Image: widget_1.png?1305454501]
find quote
DazNoonan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Noticed this has got 64 views, just wondered if anyone had any thoughts on it?

Devices using XBMC
iMac | MacBook | MacBook Air | AppleTV2 | iPad | iPhone4
[Image: classic]
[Image: widget_1.png?1305454501]
find quote
DazNoonan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Lots of views now... can anyone comment? Maybe the stream can already be got through a current plugin that I am unaware of, if not then am I flogging a dead horse?

Thanks

Devices using XBMC
iMac | MacBook | MacBook Air | AppleTV2 | iPad | iPhone4
[Image: classic]
[Image: widget_1.png?1305454501]
find quote
t0mm0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 485
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: UK
Post: #4
i guess you could always use .strm files or the livestream plugin to add a specific station

i was thinking of doing a decent radio plugin at some point. i never seem to be able to find a decent directory site though.

i was looking at http://www.streamingthe.net/ (which has your channel listed) which might be ok unless anyone can come up with a better site?
find quote
DazNoonan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
t0mm0 Wrote:i guess you could always use .strm files or the livestream plugin to add a specific station

i was thinking of doing a decent radio plugin at some point. i never seem to be able to find a decent directory site though.

i was looking at http://www.streamingthe.net/ (which has your channel listed) which might be ok unless anyone can come up with a better site?

That would be fine, is it wasy to use livestream to add this station do you think? Really would love to be able to get it through XBMC somehow.

I looked at your link, and found that on that site this is the direct link for the station I want: http://www.streamingthe.net/CKRY-105-FM-Calgary/p/8282 When you click to listen this still goes to streamtheworld, is that going to be a problem?

Streamtheworld link to station (to listen): http://corusmedia.media.streamtheworld.c....country10

Thanks

Devices using XBMC
iMac | MacBook | MacBook Air | AppleTV2 | iPad | iPhone4
[Image: classic]
[Image: widget_1.png?1305454501]
find quote
t0mm0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 485
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: UK
Post: #6
the url you are looking for is:

Code:
http://208.80.54.136/CKRYFMAAC

put that in a file called country105.strm and place it in a folder that xbmc can play and you should be good to go!
find quote
DazNoonan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
t0mm0 Wrote:the url you are looking for is:

Code:
http://208.80.54.136/CKRYFMAAC

put that in a file called country105.strm and place it in a folder that xbmc can play and you should be good to go!
Hi mate,

Thanks for the info, I have just done as you said and added the folder it was in as a source on XBMC. I can then see the .strm file but when I click play on it nothing happens.

Not sure what I am doing wrong Sad

Devices using XBMC
iMac | MacBook | MacBook Air | AppleTV2 | iPad | iPhone4
[Image: classic]
[Image: widget_1.png?1305454501]
find quote
t0mm0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 485
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: UK
Post: #8
well it works for me in 10.1 and a nightly build from a few days ago.

you could also use livestreams plugin by inserting the following in your livestreams xml configuration file:
Code:
<item>
        <title>country 105</title>
        <link>http://208.80.54.136/CKRYFMAAC</link>
        <thumbnail>http://www.country105.com/pics/logo_CKRY.gif</thumbnail>
    </item>

also tested as working in 10.1 and nightly.

if you need help with the livestreams plugin try this thread

good luck!
find quote
procrastinator Offline
Fan
Posts: 443
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 4
Location: UK
Post: #9
t0mm0 Wrote:i was thinking of doing a decent radio plugin at some point. i never seem to be able to find a decent directory site though.

I just saw that you wrote the statement above and wanted to point out RadioTime.com. Their site is excellent for streaming radio... well, certainly here in the UK. But from what I can tell they have a huge library of internet only stations, and online streams of conventional radio stations (including "Country 105") from all over the world. They also do 'catch-up' streams and podcasts for shows that have already been on. Plus they have a good API, and encourage development of plugins/apps etc.

Somebody made a good start on a XBMC plugin a while ago, but only a little was done and development has been dead for months. Would love it if someone were to pick this up again.

If you'd like to work on a radio plugin, I think RadioTime is an excellent candidate site to work with
(This post was last modified: 2011-04-18 20:49 by procrastinator.)
find quote
DazNoonan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
t0mm0 Wrote:well it works for me in 10.1 and a nightly build from a few days ago.

you could also use livestreams plugin by inserting the following in your livestreams xml configuration file:
Code:
<item>
        <title>country 105</title>
        <link>http://208.80.54.136/CKRYFMAAC</link>
        <thumbnail>http://www.country105.com/pics/logo_CKRY.gif</thumbnail>
    </item>

also tested as working in 10.1 and nightly.

if you need help with the livestreams plugin try this thread

good luck!
I'm on ATV2, not with nightly, but I will try the livestreams and see if I can get that to work. When you did it the other way (copying the file) what steps did you actually take to get the stream working?

Thanks for your help with this!

Devices using XBMC
iMac | MacBook | MacBook Air | AppleTV2 | iPad | iPhone4
[Image: classic]
[Image: widget_1.png?1305454501]
find quote
t0mm0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 485
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: UK
Post: #11
DazNoonan Wrote:I'm on ATV2, not with nightly, but I will try the livestreams and see if I can get that to work. When you did it the other way (copying the file) what steps did you actually take to get the stream working?

nothing other than what i said before, paste the url into a file called country105.strm and put it in a directory you browse with xbmc.

procrastinator Wrote:If you'd like to work on a radio plugin, I think RadioTime is an excellent candidate site to work with

thanks for the pointer, this looks like a cool site - i've been looking for something like this for ages!

i installed the plugin you pointed to and it works fairly well for the basic directory listing.

i might try and make something using all the interesting features of their API - it's nice to work with something that's documented for once rather than scraping and reverse engineering stuff Wink
find quote
DazNoonan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Do I then browse to the file by adding the location as a source inside of music? Quite new to all this XBMC stuff so not sure how else I would navigate to it. Sorry to sound a little Dim Sad

Devices using XBMC
iMac | MacBook | MacBook Air | AppleTV2 | iPad | iPhone4
[Image: classic]
[Image: widget_1.png?1305454501]
find quote
t0mm0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 485
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: UK
Post: #13
DazNoonan Wrote:Do I then browse to the file by adding the location as a source inside of music? Quite new to all this XBMC stuff so not sure how else I would navigate to it. Sorry to sound a little Dim Sad

yes, just browse to it and play it in xbmc as though it were a normal mp3 file for example.
find quote
DazNoonan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
t0mm0 Wrote:yes, just browse to it and play it in xbmc as though it were a normal mp3 file for example.
Right okay I see... that is what I tried to do, but when I navigated to it and clicked on it another list came up with what looked like a list of files. I then navigated back up and held down the option to select play this time and nothing happened.

You couldn't send me the file you created could you? Thanks for your help!

Devices using XBMC
iMac | MacBook | MacBook Air | AppleTV2 | iPad | iPhone4
[Image: classic]
[Image: widget_1.png?1305454501]
find quote
t0mm0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 485
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: UK
Post: #15
DazNoonan Wrote:You couldn't send me the file you created could you? Thanks for your help!

http://onairsoftware.co.uk/country105.strm Wink
find quote
Post Reply