Macroblocking with new sandy bridge build, dxva2 enabled.

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
portokala123 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
I have the same problem with i3-2100T. DXVA2 is working fine with TMT5, but its broken in mpc-hc and XBMC. So the problem is probaly in Intel driver implementation, and we all know how bad are intel GMA drivers Smile.
find quote
Stompp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Post: #17
ATM I don't even get that far. If I turn on DVXA2 XBMC crashes when launching any movie.

My setup looks like this.

Your focus needs more focus
Current WIP: Karma TF8
find quote
splnuts Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
I will have my i3-2100 build in tomorrow. Maybe I will have to find another route until this id fixed Sad. But I will def give it a try.
find quote
Cfishy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
splnuts Wrote:I will have my i3-2100 build in tomorrow. Maybe I will have to find another route until this id fixed Sad. But I will def give it a try.

You can just turn off hardware acceleration and it will be fine.
find quote
tboooe Offline
Fan
Posts: 456
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Shike Wrote:Got the very same problem with an i3 2100T and dxva2.

The CPU isnt strong enough to run every movie, as soon as the bitrate exceeds 25Mb/s i start dropping frames. CPUutiliziation at around 55-60% and framedropping starts to occurr.

The picture looks very nice other than that though, really hope this problem will be fixed soon.

Could I have missed something somewhere since my CPU cant handle the load?

25mb/s!!!Confused Isnt that quit high? What are you streaming to get such high bitrates? I dont think my x264 1080p bluray rips are anywhere close to that.
find quote
ghostelement Offline
Fan
Posts: 446
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Portland, Oregon
Post: #21
tboooe Wrote:25mb/s!!!Confused Isnt that quit high? What are you streaming to get such high bitrates? I dont think my x264 1080p bluray rips are anywhere close to that.

25Mbps is pretty standard for blurays.

[Image: tgdb-buttonlogosmall.png]
thegamesdb.net - An open video games database.
scottbrant.net - Blog
find quote
tboooe Offline
Fan
Posts: 456
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
ghostelement Wrote:25Mbps is pretty standard for blurays.

Yeah you are right...I always rip bluray to x264 using Handbrake so I dont get nearly as high a bitrate.

I hope Intel/XBMC can figure out why using hardware acceleration wont work.
find quote
nicob Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Same problem.. I can play most Blurays just fine without acceleration, but when there are PiP features, I get massive framedrops.. (with a Core i3 2100T)

I Hope someone will fix this... as I am able to use the latest libav or ffmpeg-mt with DXVA on my Sandy Bridge
(This post was last modified: 2011-04-14 12:37 by nicob.)
find quote
Shike Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
tboooe Wrote:25mb/s!!!Confused Isnt that quit high? What are you streaming to get such high bitrates? I dont think my x264 1080p bluray rips are anywhere close to that.

25Mb/s aint that high tbh, some movies spike at around 33-35 Mb/s.. Doesnt look too nice with the framedropping that occurr.

I tossed in a HD 5450 for now, works but the picture isnt as good as with the i3's GPU. Very washed out colours and blacks are crushed etc.

I had the same problem with artifacts in MPC-HC aswell btw.
find quote
SpectreX Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
Change the Color Levels to 0-255 or 16-235 (see which one works with your TV) and disable Dynamic Contrast and the other "image enhancements" in the Catalyst Control Center
find quote
Shike Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
SpectreX Wrote:Change the Color Levels to 0-255 or 16-235 (see which one works with your TV) and disable Dynamic Contrast and the other "image enhancements" in the Catalyst Control Center

Thank you, I already did that though and the result isnt good, its okey but not good. Spent a good few hours on these settings and when the blacks wasnt totally crushed the colours was washed out, when colours looked allright then the blacks was crushed in varying degrees Tongue

(Using an Epson TW-5500 projector btw)

With the i3 I just plug and play and it looks good. Didnt have to touch one single setting out of the box, pretty impressive tbh.

One distinctive difference between the gpu in the i3 and the hd 5450 is the handling of movement, the i3 is doing this in particular very very good in comparison.

Just wish Intel could solve this problem with dxva yesterday Stare
find quote
AlExAkE Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
Cfishy Wrote:just came across this same issue. Sad

Hardware acceleration off = 13%-17% cpu usage and a viewable image

Hardware acceleration on = 5%-6% CPU usage and a totally unviewable image

[Image: F02ty.jpg]

I get the exact same issue, like this screenshot above!

However, I'm using my 2 years old laptop with processor Intel Core2 Due P8400 @ 2.26GhZ, so this is not just SandyBridge issue for sure! As soon as I turn off hardware acceleration, the problem is fixed. However this started happening recently after installing/uninstalling codecs/drivers/updates. So I believe it is on Intel's side more than on XBMC. Aether way, please someone FIX IT!
find quote
boltofthunder Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #28
Hello,

if i turn on the DXVA2 support on my SandyBridge with Intel Motherboard and onboard graphics, i see the blocks watching x264 coded MKV in HD and in SD ...

but i tried different encoder settings for producing the MKV and it seams that some of my tries produced working results:

This x264 "Baseline" Profile with 1 ReFrame works fine for me:

ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Baseline@L3.1
Format settings, CABAC : No
Format settings, ReFrames : 1 frame
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 1h 47mn
Bit rate : 2 357 Kbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 560 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 2.25:1
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.137
Stream size : 1.77 GiB (84%)
Writing library : x264 core 105 r1724 b02df7b
Encoding settings : cabac=0 / ref=1 / deblock=1:-1:-1 / analyse=0x1:0x111 / me=hex / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.15 / mixed_ref=0 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=0 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-3 / threads=12 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=0 / weightp=0 / keyint=12 / keyint_min=1 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=12 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=19.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
Language : German


The x264 "High" Profile with standard activated B-Frames and 3 ReFrames i usually used before produces the blocks

With other external Players like MPC-HC i am able to watch all of my test-Files with hardwareencoding properly - so this issue seams to be more on the XBMC side.

so i don't want to recode all of my films - xbmc Team please solve the Problem ...
find quote
vinistois Offline
Fan
Posts: 424
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 13
Post: #29
Got my new system put together, getting this same problem.

Would be great to have this fixed, since Sandy Bridge is such an awesome platform for xbmc.

i3 2100t, win7 64 bit, Today's nightly build.
find quote
uncola Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
getting this same issue with the new htpc I just put together. core i3 2100 sandy bridge gpu. the newest mpc-hc daily works with hardware accel but xbmc dharma doesn't.. using newest intel drivers from april 15 on win 7 x64
find quote
Post Reply