Suggested upgrade from Acer Revo 3600?
Hi all,

Time for an upgrade I think. Although my little Revo has (and still does) serve me well it's a little sluggish when it comes to running skins like Aeon MQ2. So I'm looking to upgrade.

Are there currently any out of the box solutions that anyone could recommend as a good upgrade?

My Setup:
Panasonic 42" PX80
Optomo HD80 1080p projector
Onkyo 606 (Spec:- http://www.eu.onkyo.com/products/TX-SR606.html)

Movies are almost all 1080p mkv rips.

I have zero experience of building my own HTPC but don't mind having a go it isn't to difficult.

Any help is much appreciated.
Prior to upgrade, just give a try for the OpenELEC build on your box. I have this working fine without sluggish even when running Aeon skin. I'm using Acer Revo 3610 model.
I have a Revo also. From what I've seen, it isn't really worth the upgrade yet, I'd just add a ssd. You will get better performance from Zacate and a Celery processor, but it's only marginal, if you consider the big picture, and isn't really worth the money.
Hi

xecutionx Wrote:I have a Revo also. From what I've seen, it isn't really worth the upgrade yet, I'd just add a ssd. You will get better performance from Zacate and a Celery processor, but it's only marginal, if you consider the big picture, and isn't really worth the money.

no need to spend much money in a ssd and open your system with openelec, it boots and runs fast from the original HDD in your revo too. give it a try and use the money for more important things....
greetings, Stephan

I have 2 Revos, one with an SSD and one with a HDD. With DDS fanart compression enabled and running live, there really is no difference with an SSD and a HDD on these boxes other than bootup time. Personally I just have mine go to sleep so that difference doesnt even matter.