NOOB : exporting/importing
Hello all,

I'm new to the world of XBMC and already totally addicted. What a beautiful tool.

However, I have a question.

Currently, I have a laptop and an external USB HD. When I discovered XBMC last week, I installed the tool on this laptop and now I'm arranging all my MP3s, photos ... in a good dir structure for XBMC. It's a lot of fun. However, I'm planning on buying a new HD and perhaps a PC or something just for XBMC (for my man cave set up ;-). My question now is ... If I copy my arranged items to this new HD, install XBMC on a new system and link the HD to this new system, is there a way to get all my multimedia I'm downloading now on this laptop as wel on the new system? Can you use the export function for this? I mean, on a new system, the HD might not be d:\ as it is now. Does this then mean I have to change the path manually for all the directories I'm creating in XBMC?

Thank you already for you time.

Cheers,
Grave
For videos: If you get all your files set up on the current external drive and then scan all this info to the library you can then export the library info to individual files. This will copy nfo file to the directories where the movies are saved. If you then move all the movies and associated directories to a new machine / drive when xbmc updates the library it can read fromt he local files

For photos: XBMC doesn't use a libray mode so you can't export the data. It always works in file mode

For music: Not sure how exporting the library data works.

But for all of this, if you want to have your libraries synced between the laptop and the new PC you will need to set up an external database. Trying searching for "mysql" in the forums and it gives you all the info on how to do this. There are a few laerge threads covering it. Then you only need to update the library once by one of the clients and the new updates will be seen by all other clients that connect to that mysql database.