Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Opinions sought on server/HTPC parts list
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everyone, cheers for reading this. I'm planning on building a new machine in 2 weeks time (once my exams are over) and would greatly appreciate it if some of the knowledgeable folk on these boards could cast their eye over my bits and pieces, letting me know if I've overlooked anything. I'm studying software engineering but have never put together a full system before, and I'd rather learn now than when I open the boxes and it doesn't work :p

The plan:

Build a server/HTPC that is quiet enough to run overnight in my room without annoying me, housing several HDDs to store my media and sharing it to other XBMC clients (Xboxes currently) throughout the house via a cat5e network. The machine should also be able to run XBMC on the TV (via HDMI) that will sit next to it. It might also require to do some occasional transcoding, etc, so the processor should be semi-decent.

The build so far:

CASE - Casecom 6788 Black Mid Tower Case - £28.71
MB - Asus P5G41T-M LX G41 Socket 775 DDR3 VGA Out 8 Channel Audio mATX Motherboard - £37.50
CPU - Intel Pentium E6600 Socket 775 3.06GHz 1066FSB 2MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor - £56.33
or - Intel Pentium E5800 Socket 775 3.20Ghz 800FSB 2MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor - £56.74
RAM - EXTRA VALUE 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz Memory Kit 1.5V CL9 - £30.76
PSU - Corsair 430W CX PSU 4x SATA 1x PCI-E - £34.95
GPU - Asus GeForce G210 SILENT 512MB DDR2 DVI VGA HDMI Out DirectX 10.1 Low Profile PCI-E Graphics Card - £23.98
or - EVGA G210 512MB DDR3 Passive DVI VGA HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card - £28.07
OS - Ubuntu, but possibly WHS
PLUS - Extra 120mm fans (maybe a fan controller?), a cheap DVDRW, etc...

Total - £212-216, plus HDDs, fans and any other bits and bobs I need.

So, a few things that I'm still not quite sure about: