Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: music library artist sort order
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello together! I'm new with xbmc but nearly everything seems to work fine except one detail: why is XBMC sorting some artists in the wrong way? Example:

I have the following artists in my collection:

Abba
a-ha
Alicia Keys
Leona Lewis
The Bangles
The Killers
Vanessa Mae

Fine. Adding them to the library reults in the following order in database mode:

Abba
a-ha
Alicia Keys
The Killers
Leona Lewis
The Bangles
Vanessa Mae

Why are "The Killers" sorted by "K" instead of "T", like "The Bangles" are sorted? The MP3-Tags show a clear "The Killers" and "The Bangles" in both artist and album artist.

Maybe somebody has an explanation for me...

Thanks a lot!
Kind regards
Kai
Greetings,

I'm pretty new to XBMC but I will offer this as a guess.

A lot of programs will simply ignore 'the' at the front of a group of titles and sort by the second word. Seems to be the more plausible explanation to your situation.
DragonDon Wrote:A lot of programs will simply ignore 'the' at the front of a group of titles and sort by the second word. Seems to be the more plausible explanation to your situation.

Indeed, that's the explanation. This is an option in XBMC. Go to System settings, Appearance, File lists and disable "Ignore articles when sorting".

But do you really every band starting with "The" to be sorted together? You're going to have half your music all grouped together under "The".

JR
I think the question is, why are 'The Bangles' not under 'B' if the 'The Killers' are under 'K'.
live4ever Wrote:I think the question is, why are 'The Bangles' not under 'B' if the 'The Killers' are under 'K'.

Oops, yes, good point.

I can't think of an obvious reason for the odd sorting. I'd probably fire up SQLLiteBrowser and have a grub around in the database to see if anything looks odd.

JR