Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: [atv] weird HDMI sound issue
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
My issue is that I cannot get HD files to play sound correctly, I either get a loud static hiss or the audio device fails to initialize. I'll try to explain what I have tried, but I am still pretty new at this.

So I tried to change the .asoundrc file (which was found in the xbmc heading) to the code found here (http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=501974&postcount=5) and I lose menu sounds, but I still get audio from SD video files. However, I can't seem to get HD video files to give me any sound, depending on the settings in the audio output menu I either get static or pop-up that says 'audio device failed to initialize'

The .asoundrc code that seems to work better, as in I get menu sounds is:

pcm.!default {
type asym
playback.pcm {
type plug
slave.pcm "hw:0,3"
}
}

With that last night I actually had sound through HD video after a fresh boot. but when I got up this morning I had no sound again.

I'm using an ATV with the crystal HD card, and dharma 10.1. The ATV is connected via HDMI to a samsung 50" plasma, the sound passes through the tv's optical out and goes to my LG surround sound. Is it possible that something could be going on with the HDMI handshake?

update: So I did a little more noob troubleshooting, If I reboot XBMC then everything works exactly like it should (audio output setting are: audio output HDMI, DOlby and DTS are checked, output device is Defaults, and passthrough is HDMI). So everything is working good, but as soon as I watch an SD video, then if I go back to watch an HD one I get no sound and a pop-up saying audio device failed to initialize.

Has this happened to anyone? If you need the debug or anything to help, then I am going to need some basic instructions on how to get that.
make your .asoundrc to look like this
Quote:pcm.!default {
type plug