Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Please help! R3700, moved from SPDIF to HDMI - cannot get audio!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am not an expert, but have tried many different things and cannot get audio out of the R3700, now that I have changed from SPDIF to HDMI for audio. Oo

Running XBMC Live 10.1
Alsa is at 1.0.24
nVidia HDMI is on 1,3.
All SPDIF channels in alsamixer are not muted.

I've tried:
Audio output: HDMI
Audio output device: HDMI, nVidia HDA defaults, plughw:1,7, plughw:1,3
Passthrough output device: HDMI, nVidia HDA defaults, plughw:1,7, plughw:1,3

This has been driving me nuts for the past week, and I will honestly post a beer to whomever might be able to offer assistance! I am stumped now! Eek

What further information can I provide that will assist? Many thanks!!!
How have you tested the audio?

What I would suggest is try the following: open a terminal and check ALL eld#P.0 files in /proc/asound/card1/ using cat. P being an integer from 0-3 or maybe 0-2.

Exactly one of them should start with this:

Code:
monitor_present        1

Then, with the following mapping table, remember the appropriate Q given the P that you found above:

P->Q
======
0->1
1->2
2->4
3->8

Now, as root, open /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf in an editor and append the following line:

Code:
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=0 probe_mask=-1,0xQ

So if there was a "monitor_present 1" in /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.0, append

Code:
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=0 probe_mask=-1,0x1

to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf. Then execute as root:

Code:
modprobe -r snd-hda-intel && modprobe snd-hda-intel

or just reboot, just to be safe. Then open alsamixer again and unmute the only S/PDIF channel on card1 you should have left now.

Then just set the audio and passthrough device to "hdmi" and you should have sound during video and music playback!