Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Help with Home Theater and implementation of XBMC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi everyone,
just wanted to ask some questions and hoping to get some answers or suggestions regarding XBMC. I'm a little new to it, but it offers all the features I want. ie. similar to Kalaidescape.

The question i have is the following.

My Server (Windows Home Server) is setup in another room and all my back up videos/movies/pictures are on it. I don't want to build a HTPC as I have no place for it in my AV rack, is there another form of Client that I can use to stream the videos over and into my Processor which won't be loud, take up a lot of space etc and connect it to my processor?

I was thinking of a Windows Tablet as I have an HDMI and a Ethernet port at my seating position, since I don' believe 1080p works very well over Wifi. Plus, its very difficult to find a Windows tablet, let alone one with an ethernet port.
Not especially. Have you considered using an Apple TV 2?
I would agree the ATV2 is the easiest solution for a low cost, low noise/heat, low profile client. The main drawback can be the lack of 1080p output resolution, though it decodes 1080p files fine as long as they are h.264 encoded. Other limitations include the inability to decode or bitstream advanced codecs like DTS-HD/MA or TrueHD.

There are other HTPC solutions that are low profile and low heat, but the ATV2 is hard to beat if you can with the limitations.

What is your display, size, and viewing distance?
It wil be running on a 138" 2.35:1 screen.
Viewing will be at 16' for the first row and about 22' for the second row.
The room is about 27x20x9.

Basically a dedicated home threater room.

I guess my only option would be to build a htpc and put it behind the rack. Install XBMC and stream it from the WHS. Also add a remote to it like a logitech mini dinovo?