Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Request : guitar tab script.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hey everyone,

i've been pondering this concept for sometime and i believe it's high time i do something about it.  basically, i'd like a script that will retrieve and display guitar tabs for either the song being played (by id3) or by a simple search indicated by the user. i know the lyrics script does basically this but for lyrics so i don't see why it won't be possible for tabs.  i would be very interested in helping but i have limited knowledge in programming.  i know all you guitar players (or aspiring so) out there would love this.
bump. an option to view bass and guitar tabs would be awesome. i would suggest mxtabs.net. great site.
i think it would be great too. this might be a good one to add to the ooba browser. infact i think ill suggest it Cool
i'll try to add it to ooba. i'm a bass player myself and i think it is a great idea. however, i'm almost sure that the lines will be wrapped. also, i'm using the default skin font which isn't necessarily monospaced.

but you can try adding these two blocks to menu xml:
edit: xml deleted as it is in included in the newest ooba release.

note these patterns have only been tested in the emulator which does not emulate the textbox very accurately.
a tab script would be amazing. i already use xbmc to try to figure songs out on the guitar, having the tabs would make my day.
you can try out ooba. i have included mxtabs.net in the latest version. however, you need to install a monospaced font in your xbmc, otherwise it looks crap. you could copy courier.ttf to where arial.ttf is. (i haven't tried that myself)