Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Another question on aspect ratio
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hello all,

i'm new to xbmc, and loving it! :thumbsup:

i was reading some posts about aspect ratio, and i'm still trying to figure out what i'm doing wrong with one kind of transcoding.

firstly, if i rip a typical ntsc movie off a dvd, it ends up at 720x480, but the "real" aspect ratio should be 16:9. therefore, if the rendering display has square pixels (x dpi == y dpi), this image must be stretched to 853x480 to be displayed at the correct aspect ratio.

if i encode to mp4 (using xvid and ffmpeg) and keep the same size (720x480), when i run xbmc in stretch 16:9, i get exactly the correct aspect ratio. that is, it works!

now, the video is really letterboxed in the 720x480 res. if i crop the top and bottom, the video is actually 720x360. because the rip is from a production movie, the actual aspect ratio of the "movie strip" is about 2.38 - but i'll settle for 2.37 - which is 720 stretched to 853 x 360 = 2.37.

so, i crop out the top 60 and bottom 60 lines from my transcode to produce a 720x360 xvid mp4 file. since i was using ffmpeg, i selected the option -aspect 2.37. also, i needed to use virtualdubmod to add the ac3 audio track back into the stream, so the xvid output is using the avi container (ffmpeg switch -f avi).

when i play this 720x360 file in xbmc, it doesn't seem to "see" the -aspect 2.37 option i gave to ffmpeg. maybe that option doesn't properly set the right flags in the xvid header, or perhaps there's something fishy using an avi container instead of an mp4 container.