Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: HTPC: Build or Buy?!? HELP
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi Folks,

I know, I know, this is an old thread that has been beat to death, but most of the other threads are 2 to 3 years old. So, here we go again...

I am an avid DIY PC builder and love building new PC’s. But in our current economic situation, money is a bit scarce. And I am seeing a plethora of set-top devices that seem to do most of what I want an HTPC to deliver. So, I am trying to determine whether I should try to build my own HTPC or buy one of these new set-top boxes.

My current home theatre is a dark room with five electronic reclining chairs, a JVC DLA projector, a rack of equipment in a closet and a 110 inch screen. I have CAT6 cable throughout my house. I have a Blu Ray disc player and a Vudu device that lets me play Vudu movies I have purchased.

First, here’s what I want in a HTPC/device:
  • Play all of the 1080p Blu Ray movies I have ripped to my Home Server PC
  • Play any other personal videos I have taken that are stored on my Home Server PC
  • Access the internet to round out my ability to see movies and TV online (I have DirecTV and Vudu, but I know there are other options open to me like Hulu and YouTube)
  • Future-proof to some degree, as much as is possible

So should I consider building a new HTPC with a shiny new Sandy Bridge processor that will let me play my Blu Ray movies without a discrete video card? Or buy a Sony SMP-N100 device or something similar?

Thank you in advance!
GamingDaemon Wrote:So should I consider building a new HTPC with a shiny new Sandy Bridge processor that will let me play my Blu Ray movies without a discrete video card? Or buy a Sony SMP-N100 device or something similar?

Thank you in advance!