Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Complete Noob, advice and questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I was looking at xbmc recently to watch web content like icefilms ect...I also want something to play music 2ch flac and bitstreams and displays folder.jpg art.

I dont want to stream anything really off my hard drive, i am a dune owner and stream blu-rays and hd content to it.

Im torn whether to just get an appletv2 for simplicity, or buy a cheap zotac htpc.

I have a few questions if anyone can answer, and feel free as to offer suggestions on which direction i should go, zotac or apple tv. I have read quite a bit but still have questions. I dont want to spend much on this.

1. If i go zotac can i run xbmc as a operating system off usb? I dont want to add windows or anything.

2. Stuttering of icefilms type content is a huge concern, i am using a wired connection 25 down 3 up, i dont share my connection with anyone, but this is where im curious about hardware limits.

3. Remote control usability, if i go zotac or anything, can the xbmc app in the android marketplace control it just over wifi?

4.Upnp does xbmc have this? Could I use my android to actually see content on xbmc from my android? For instance if i set up a music share, can i use the android app to view and play my music?

Thats about it, i would go the zotac route for more flexibility, but ease of use concerns me, mainly with a remote.
Also if it helps I was looking at the zotac ZBOX ND22.

I am thinking/hoping apple tv with crystal hd chip, would work fine for 720p.

Im not to sure how much 1080p content there is available for web streaming.

Any hd content i keep my dune takes care of off my home server.
Icefilms-related discussion is no longer allowed on these forums.

1> Yes

2> Depends

3> Not sure

4> Yes
Jetster Wrote:3> Not sure