Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: From Windows 7 to LINUX
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am new to XBMC & LINUX.

I have XBMC Beta 3 on Windows 7 but would like to set up the UBUNTU version in the future on another machine.

Meanwhile I would like to have a look at XBMCUBUNTU.

Is it possible to have this run on my Windows PC? I see the Live version is the recommended way but not sure if this can be run on a dual OS.

Any newbie info would help as I have never used LINUX before.

Thanks

Alan
Hi again

Just to add I have read as much a I can and tried burning the ISO disk (3 new CDs) but none will Boot. I do have it set to CD Boot first.

Problem is I am not sure if I am doing the right thing with the install. I am following the instructions but can't seem to make any progress.

Thanks

Alan
try burning at the lowest possible speed and verify disk. What program are you using to burn the disk? The default windows burning program should work, but you could also try ImgBurn.
Try booting from USB.
Unetbootin for example.
Thanks guys for the response, I used Windows Image Burner and ISORecorder.

Would it help if I used a DVD instead?

Will try again and try Unetbootin also.

Cheers

Alan
Thanks guys

Finally resolved it by re-downloading the xbmc iso burned and worked.

XBMC looks good and here I am using Chrome from the desktop.

Next challenge to look at further install options e.g. boot from USB or dual boot with windows.

Have to say as my very first Ubuntu session even running from CD its pretty quick so food for thought. I am hoping to be among the first Raspberry Pi users so wanting to see what might be involved

Any tips for the above and Linux newbie appreciated.

Cheers

Alan
Dual booting is a bit more complicated, but possible, using OpenElec. But installation is a breeze (just follow instrutions) and it's even faster then Xbmcubuntu.