Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMCbuntu, but with the Gnome 3 shell?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I absolutely love XBMCbuntu, however I would love to use the Gnome 3 shell instead of the standard Unity shell:

http://www.gnome.org/gnome-3/

It is absolutely beautiful. However, I've tried to install it using some guides on the internet (I'm quite new to using linux), but with no succes, it looks like I've installed an older version, and it also installs a lot of extra games and apps. Does anyone know how to cleanly install this shell on top of the latest XBMCbuntu?
You need to find the right package. the -desktop package typically contain the full standard ubtunu desktop including applications.
I do not have the solution for gnome 3 this very moment but for gnome 2 it used to be gnome-core but for some reason they screwed that up in 11.10 and you have to use gnome-session-fallback --no-install-recommends.
If you are only after the basic look and menus you could keep lxde and just add the gnome-panel.
What package did you install?
The gnome-shell looks pretty clean to me.
http://packages.ubuntu.com/oneiric/gnome-shell

EDIT:Scratch that
Thanks but as I said I'm not interested in the older version.

Anyone else know how to install Gnome 3?
gnome-shell is gnome 3....but never mind
Allright, weird it looked so horrible out of the box, not at all like on the website in my first post
So, I just do a total reinstall of XBMCBuntu to be sure, run apt-get install gnome-shell and it's awesome like on the website http://www.gnome.org/gnome-3/...?
Is there anyone with XBMCBuntu that installed Gnome 3 and could help me a bit? Smile
There is nothing more to it, or you have to make your question more specific. You want it to look like the poster? That is not a question for the xbmc forum.