Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMCbuntu ATI x1200 really slow
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Just upgraded from live 10.1 to XBMCbuntu and noticed that the GPU is detected as Software Rasterizer.

Its running horribly slow navigating the menus and movies stutter really bad (unwatchable)

Im no linux expert so could somebody please tell me what i need to do to get it working again, everything was fine in 10.1 live (installed to HDD) but i would really like to stay up to date.

Cheers
There's not much you can do. ATI has deprecated support for the x1200 chipset. I'm writing this on an HP laptop with the same chipset with Ubuntu 11.10 installed. The legacy driver put out by ATI does not work on the newer versions of Ubuntu, it may still work on Lucid, which is what Dharma (10.1) was initially installed on. XBMCbuntu, IIRC, uses Oneiric as it's base Ubuntu install, so the ATI proprietary drivers don't work with the x1200 chipset.

About your only choice is to downgrade to a version of Linux supported by the Legacy drivers and install the newest version of XBMC on top of that.
you can try the "radeon" free driver. It's going better and better each day.
you can try it by updating with the xorg-edgers ppa. If you still have software rasterizer, install libgl1-glx-mesa-experimental package.
I'm running the Radeon driver on my laptop, and performance in XBMC isn't that good. The GUI is slow and stuttery and you can pretty much forget 1080p content. This is on a 1200x800 screen as well. 720p content is okay, not great, but not a slideshow either.

I'm going to try edgers to see if I get any improvements.
the radeon stock driver doesnt have full 3d acceleration, but with ppa xorg-edgers and natty I managed to have a smoothy xbmc and hd content !
Give a try, and if things go worth you can go back !
nonorider360 Wrote:you can try the "radeon" free driver. It's going better and better each day.