Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: HDMI Audio
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hi all im new to ubuntu and to xbmc and i'm having problem setting up my system.

I have a dell optiplex 760 with a radeon HD 5400 graphics card (with HDMI port) running ubuntu 12.04.
When I play SD videos with mp3 sound all works fine, but if i play a HD video failed to initialize audio device.

I have tried to change the audio settings on the system but no luck.

I really hope that someone can help or I will have to go back to windows on this system and I've just got rid of all my windows machine's.

Thanks.
You are outputting the sound through HDMI right? Try this:

from shell:

Code:
$aplay -l

this is what my output looks like:

Code:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: ALC662 rev1 Digital [ALC662 rev1 Digital]
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]

You see how one of those is the HDMI sound out? In my case it's card 0, device 3.

now, from a shell type sudo nano /etc/asound.conf and put in that file the following:

pcm.force48 {
type rate
slave {
pcm "hw:0,3"
rate 48000
}
}

And replace "hw:0,3" with whatever the card, device number were from the output of aplay -l for the HDMI device in your system. Then reboot the system.

Finally, in XBMC, go to system->system->audio output and put the following settings:

under audio output: HDMI
under audio output device: custom and type in force48
under passthrough audio device: custom and type in force48
Does the live cd use pulse or alsa? If pulse, no need to muck with those file, just use pavucontrol.
(2012-05-06, 15:48)blm14 Wrote: [ -> ]You are outputting the sound through HDMI right? Try this:

from shell:

Code:
$aplay -l

this is what my output looks like:

Code: