Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Complicated UnRaid hardware scenario
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I’ve been thinking about building an UnRaid system for a while now. I want to use as many parts that I currently own as possible. I’ve seen other forums about UnRaid and backups. My plan would be to run UnRaid for all my storage needs. Right now, my desktop has the master copy of my data on 2 X 2 TB drives. Most of this data is copied onto my TV HTPC/Server. So I listed my current setups below. I’m a college student with one more year left in school. I’m home until the end of August and am moving to a bigger apartment at home, which I’ll need to rewire as well. I will need a way to run XBMC on at least 2 TVs at home. I only worry about 1 TV when I’m at school. Currently I leave my HTPC at home during school, but I’m guessing that I would take it with me, if it held the only copy of all my data. So, how could I build an UnRaid system from that TV/Media Center? Most importantly, will UnRaid be as effective at protecting my data as my current method of making copies across multiple hard drives?

Main Desktop- This system comes with me when I’m at school and when I go home.
Case: Antec 900
CPU: i5 2500k, 8GB 1600 Ram, 650 OCZ PSU
Board: Asrock Extreme P4 http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Mo...20Extreme4 (8 Sata Ports total) 3 different controllers (2 Sata3 Marvel, 2 Sata 3 Intel)
SSD: 2X OCZ Agility 3, only 1 being used.
GPU: Gigabyte 6850, ATI 3870 Toxic(Toxic added when using multi mons)
HD: 2TB Hitachi Sata2 Drive (Primary) Data has about 1.3TB of Media but 286GB free
HD: 2TB WD Green Drive
HD: 1TB Caviar Black (Not used, unplugged, no useful Data