Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMC Eden no hd video on Ubuntu
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am a complete noob. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Intel Atom 330 1.6ghz (dual)
ION gpu
2gb RAM

A couple of years ago, I installed Ubuntu 10.04 with XBMC Camelot. My only issue was that hd video would stutter. I found a forum thread that suggested installing libvdpau1. Did that and it fixed the problem. When Dharma came out, I happily upgraded to that. And then when Eden was available, I upgraded there too. All working fine.

Then I did something I probably should not have done. I upgraded the OS to 11.04, then 11.10, then 12.04. I did nothing else.

From that point on, HD videos (720p or 1080p mkv, mp4) no longer played. Either no video at all or very, very choppy like frames were being dropped. Or it would play fine for a few seconds, then stop for a half second and play again for a few seconds.

So I thought, I'm a bright guy, Ubuntu 10.04 didn't have any issues. I'll just wipe the OS and install 10.04 again. Did that, installed libvdpau1, XBMC Eden, nvidia drivers. No luck. I can't get XBMC to play any HD content. Mplayer will load the mkv files but stutters and either errors or just makes it impossible to watch.

I've searched forums but not finding anything that will help. I'm happy to wipe the OS and start again since all the content is stored on a different drive.

Thanks,
Tim
I'd stick with Eden in combination with 11.10 or later. Install the latest video drivers from NVidia via the x-swat repository. After that, videos should work (assuming they are h.264 or VC-1). There should be no need to install libvdpau1 separately.
xbmcbuntu 11.0 works out of the box on Asrock ION 330 if that is the same gpu you have.
works perfect on my Zotac MAG HD-ND01 which has the exact specs you mentioned.

to update your Nvidia drivers
Code: