Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Video working under XBMCbuntu but not properly under XBMC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,
Apologies, if I'm missing something obvious but I'm new to xbmcbuntu. I've installed it on a Dell latitude D430 from the Live CD, XBMC reports the GPU as being a Mesa DRI Intel 945GM x86/MMX/SSE2.

So the issue: I have the laptop connected to a widescreen LCD TV via a VGA cable. When I first install XBMC from the LiveCD and boot it up, the output in centred in the screen and fills it top to bottom, but there are black bars to the left and right of the screen (i.e. it's a square image rather than a rectangular widescreen one). When I go into System settings, the resolution is set to 1024x768, refresh rate is 60hz and mode is full screen #1. If I change the screen res to 1920x1080, the output moves to the top left corner of the screen, but is still a square (although smaller) and the display is zoomed and cropped at the edges of the square (I can see the bottom corner of the system settings menu up to about the debugging menu item but the rest is cropped.
Now, here's where things get more confusing. If I exit XBMC back to the login screen and log on to XBMCbuntu, go into monitor settings and set the res and refresh to auto, it correctly sets it to 1920x1080 60hz and the output fills the TV perfectly. If I then fire up XBMC within XBMCbuntu, it only takes up maybe 2 thirds of the desktop rather than being full screen. However if I then go into settings, it's set to 1280x800, but if I change that to 1920x1080 XBMC fills the screen perfectly.