Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: What is the best supported hardware?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,
I have been using xbmc for a few years now but in the last 6 months it has not run smoothly. There always seems to be a problem.
What is currently the most stable and well supported hardware platform?

I currently have a htpc with:

Gigabyte ep45-ud3lr
Intel core2duo E6750 2.66 GHz
Nvidia GT430
Silverstone case
500w PSU
generic harddrive

I am thinking it might be time to upgrade some of the hardware as it is starting to get old (maybe faulty).
Probably can do with a new cpu, psu and motherboard.

I just wondered what is the most stable and future proof hardware to go for.
Ideally not cost a fortune and be low power consumption.
Personally, I like using openelec.tv versions of XBMC. I like using them because they're very easy to install, well supported (free of course, but they appreciate donations), and you can install it on something as small as an SDHC card or USB thumb drive. This brings the cost way down. Openelec has it's own wiki with links to supported hardware that show you how to setup the audio files and what not. I'm using the ZBOX HD-11 (around $200) then I just bought one SD card and one stick of ram (maybe $50) total for those two things.

I have one in the bedroom and one in the living room and they stream 720p and 1080p mkv files without any issues.

ZBOX Features:

Small (size of router)
Low power
Super quiet
Inexpensive
Supported Hardware

Openelec Features:

Active Development
Crazy small install (low overhead)
Super simple install
Losts of walkthroughs on the wiki and support from the community.

Down sides. (for some, not for me) is that it boots directly into XBMC. If you're looking to run a full OS so you can install a bunch of other programs, then this setup probably isn't for you.