Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Documentaries help needed
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am a newbie who needs help with one additional question...

I am an advid watcher of documentaries.... some are movies like "Too Big to Fail" and others are tv shows in national geographic or discovery, history channel, etc.

I would really like to separate these from my movies and tv shows icons and create a new "Documentaries" icon that would include documentaries scraped for for movies and tv shows.

I have read that the only way to do this would be through a special type of playlist, but I am still a newbie and the follow-up instructions were brief and I could not follow them / inplement them.

Could you please help me with a link to a detailed post on how to create smart playlist for documentaries...

Thank you very much in advance for your help and valuable time.

Jhaze
@jhaze: You can try what PatK suggested, but in my opinion simply there is no good solution, I find it very difficult to simpky scrape the documentaries (it would be great to have a scraper for http://docuwiki.net) since the best approach is probably thetvdb, but for dcumentaries not in "seasons" (2 episodes can qualify as a season) there is no way to enter them, and some big groups like "natural world" take a lot of manual work to insert the correct season/episode.

As of now, I think it is fair to say that XBMC does not have support for documentaries, only those that can be treated as tvshows or as movies (but then, you cannot mix the two directly, you need the smart list thingy that I find very difficult to use and needs some manual file editing to be effective and also needs the docus to be properly scraped into the database before you can even use it).