Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Looking to move to XBMC PVR coming from SageTV; many newbie questions inside
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys. Please bear with me as I try to determine how to set up XBMC to be a replacement for my current SageTV setup.

I've been using SageTV for many years now and am overall happy with the product. I've always had my eye on XBMC and even had a set up on the old Xbox but I could never really integrate it with Sage so I left it alone. Last year, Sage sold their product to Google and I'm looking to XBMC to be a replacement for what will probably be another abandoned piece of software purchased by Google.

Here are the things that I currently use Sage for:
  • Watch recorded tv (with automatic commercial skipping via comskip)
  • Schedule recordings via an EPG in the gui as well as via the web interface (record by series/new episodes only/keywords,etc)
  • Watch live tv with pause rewind controls and option to record program after during
  • Other functions that XBMC handles (Movie collection, Music, Streaming A/V, etc)

I am running the Sage server but all viewing are done on 'client' set top boxes (HD200 and two Hauppauge MediaMVP's). I have six tuners (3x analog SD cable input, 3x digital clear QAM). The tuners are Hauppauge HVR-1600, HVR-2250, PVR-150, Silicondust HDHomeRun.